8 Years Ago I was packing boxes part time in a warehouse now I am ???

I have had a strange life but very interesting in places,

8 Years ago I was on benefits and a friend of mine needed help in their warehouse over the christmas period packing parcels, this was a time when my first child was about to be born so I jumped at the chance to get any money I could in preparation for this amazing person to arrive in our lives, I worked through Christmas packing parcels to go out to customers in the freezing cold warehouse working hard to keep warm and it was fun and rewarding and I got asked to stay on which was great and a well needed breakthrough financially, even though it was only part time it paid the bills enough to keep afloat,

5 years on and I was still there in the same warehouse having probably packaged up around 45,000 parcels in that time I knew what to do and ran the warehouse, the current Director of the company was my sister in law and the other Director lived in Australia and in the 5 years of me being there I had only met him 3 times and he barely knew my name, but then a few things started to change, my sister in law decided to leave the company so as a Director this made her leaving more of an issue and not only for me but other people in the company too resulting in another member of staff to leave at the same time.

The Director in Australia comes over to try and sort things out but they both leave which leaves me "that guy in the warehouse" on my own as the last remaining member of staff so the Director decides to shut the company down

There was I wondering what the hell I was going to do, try to find another job, I had visions of me being back on benefits again which is the last place anyone wants to be, so I stepped up to the Director and said I know everything about this company, I know every product we sell, (which was about 1000 different products) and let me run it, give me a chance let me show you I can get this company back to where it was and not only that I think I can improve it !!!!

To my amazement he actually said OK,

I have now employed 2 staff as manager of the company and the company is back on track and now doing better than ever but then the Director went Bankrupt in Australia,

I was shocked, confused and slightly scared as all the hard work I had put into the company and the my future prospects had been put in jeopardy due to someone elses downfall.

Fortunately it didnt impact us in the UK too much and as he could no longer be a director he offered me the position and now I am the Director of a company I started off being in a cold warehouse which now has ample heating for all I might add

All I can say is I never gave up on what I believed to be right and took steps I never thought I could have done but I threw myself in at the deep end, and had to learn a lot in a short period of time and all is looking good for the future

If your reading this and you have things offered to you and your scared of failure, do it anyway we have one life and if we dont grab the opportunities when we see them they get put into the box named ( I wish I had done that ) and currently I have a few in there but definately not as many as I could have had

Enjoy your life as much as you can and take chances it can be worth it

I hope this inspires someone to take that plunge into the deepend it can be rewarding

Sort:  

Congratulations @milly74! You have received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @milly74! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58527.16
ETH 2486.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41