First Harvest

in #from7 years ago

This week I harvested my first tomatoes from my bucket and A frame plants. The tomatoes were an early variety and just big enough to hold in the palm of my hands. I ate the first one on 2 mini bagles with lox cream cheese and the entire tomato sliced. The second one was on a BLT. I can buy tomatoes at the farmers market avoiding the tastless red colored things they sell at the grocery store. I save my food stamp tokens and get the big stuff like squash and pumpkins later in the season.
I live in the city next to the interstate but I still have to grow something. My soil is not good. Over the years I have tried enriching it with compost and even adding top soil and potting soil. The food grown was just ok. I had access to free wood pallets and really cheap pickle buckets. I discovered that 50 lb bags of top soil are H E A V Y!!!! Potting soil is still 50 lbs but it is easier to dump. It is the small things that give us the most happiness. I was enjoying the BLT so much I almost forgot the picture! LOL!

lox and bagels.jpg first harvest 2017.jpgBLT first tomato.jpg

Sort:  

There's nothing quite like fresh tomatoes from your own plants.

Congratulations @zombiedollmommy! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Comment

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Nothing beats homegrown!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57908.48
ETH 2913.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61