One of my best friends passed away on Friday. Judge Spott died of a massive heart attack and I will miss him.

in #friendship7 years ago

Judge Spott, was a judge in a one courtroom courthouse and after his judge seat was over, he was a practicing attorney until he suffered a massive heart attack on Wednesday.

We were an unlikely friendship, but anyone would tell you that he loved me as a dear friend and I loved him as well.

It was at the time when Curtis started dating my then girlfriend's mother, that Curtis and I began our friendship. He was 34 years older than me, so he was older than my dad, but he was my friend and not a father figure.

We spent most evenings together and every weekend together. He introduced me to the game of nine-ball, to a glass of Christian Brothers Brandy and to fresh grilled trout. The best tasting fish ever, was the trout Curtis prepared the day we went fishing with the ladies.

We built fences together and I helped him with his persimmon orchard. We talked about everything when we worked. He talked about his childhood and I talked about mine.

He considered our friendship enough to ask me to be a groomsman in his wedding.

When the relationship between my girlfriend and I ended, the hardest part was losing my almost daily visits with Curtis Spott.

My ex girlfriend notified me on Thursday, that Curtis was on life support and that her mother was going to end his suffering on Friday. My heart is broken and I will miss him even though we haven't talked in several months.

I'm @runridefly, and I regret never telling Curtis how much I loved him as a friend.

Sort:  

Hang on a dang minute ? what is a JUDGE doing with a shingle that says """ LAW OFFICES """ I always thought that JUDGES were supposed to be impartial and not actually be into PRACTICING law; but rather as an arbitrator between attorneys clients disputes and the arbiter of make rulings on the legal nature of the actual law. . . ? ? ?

Sorry u lost a good friend ! ! !

/hugz

missed u & steemit lately; been busy ! ! !

I am proposing an amendment to the constitution that there be EIGHT days per week and 25 hours in each day, who would sign such a petition ? ? ?

:)

Stay sane out there you crazy person; you ;)

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Jan 22. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $7.38 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jan 22 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Sorry for your loss @runridefly ...It's hard losing the ones that we really care about...My condolences to both your families my friend...Take care-

@steemit-life, i really appreciate that my friend. Seeing your most recent post, brightened my day.

Glad I could make your day a little brighter @runridefly...I know things might be a little rough for you right now...And hang in there Sir:)

I didn't know what to say...even the idea of the loss of a loved one makes me sad and angry. It doesn't seem possible that he couldn't have know how you felt. Your fine words of love for your friend will live forever in the Steemchain. What could be a more fitting purpose?

@benjojo, thank you for the kind comment my blockchain friend. Much love from California kids.

I am so sorry for your loss, he sounds a lovely man, you have all the fabulous memories to look back on, :)

sorry to hear that but it's good you put this on record so internet don't forget.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58169.95
ETH 3145.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38