Restoration of Relationship: Praise Report!

in #friendship6 years ago

ANOTHER praise report!

Almost 3 months ago an important friendship in my life was severed and it cut me deeply. I didn't want to admit to the level that it effected me but I'm sure it showed. It was hard and awkward for awhile because we frequented the same church and events and to not even be able to greet him threw me off my game.

Last week I wrote down several lengthy prayers for relational restoration in my notebook with a different person in mind and my goal was to pray them every day. A few times God put this person's name in the prayer as well as the originally intended person and I begrudgingly did so.

This morning I read the chapter in The Purpose Driven Life called Restoring Broken Fellowship and one of the instructions said, "Always take the initiative!" I remember reading it with this particular person in mind and feeling like it would be crazy for me to do that and I WANTED it, badly, but had no plan to really take action (go me... haha. thanks Jesus!!!).

This morning I met with a leader at Upper Room to discuss unrelated things and I showed up about 20 minutes ahead of time. I walked in and went to take a glance inside the sanctuary when I noticed said friend's very distinct hair style. After that I grabbed my water bottle and headed to the restroom.

When I came out I went to fill my water bottle at the fountain and automatically smiled and greeted the person next to me without even registering who they were (who was also refilling their water). OF COURSE IT WAS MY OLD PAL, Y'ALL!

"Oh no... I greeted him... ~awkward~," I thought. He asked how I'm doing and at first I said I was okay but then double-backed and told the truth: that I wasn't really feeling okay. This was the first time we had spoken in months and my flesh was scrambling to escape.

I slowly inched my way away from him when he said, "Hey..." and waves of love and sorrow came over me and I replied, I know." We embraced, y'all, and I just praise God for his love for his people!!!! God answers prayers! God is for the good of his people!!! <3 My friend and I ended up talking a lot before I had to leave for a couple of interviews and I'm just so thankful for God's unending grace and his sense of humor.

Restoration!!!!

Sort:  

Congratulations @rebornagain! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @rebornagain! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58613.96
ETH 3153.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43