You get what you are willing to put up with

in #friendship6 years ago

Disrespecting yourself in many walks of life in my view leaves yourself open to be disrespected,my living situation has not been great for a while now.Look back at it I did not get the balance correct,I invited a friend to come live with me in 2014 under the understanding he would pay me a small amount of rent and also be of the understanding it was my project to renovate the place myself.

Unfortunately my friend did not pay his way,which meant I had to work more,he used all the cutlery and left it unwashed for days,would walk on my carpet with muddy shoes on leave dropped food on the floor and leave massive shit skids on the back of the tolliet,and often eat my food,and claim housing benefit and not give me any despite ordering take away every other night .

I must say it become frustrating when I was sometimes told by my friend I had let him down it felt like things were not being seen from my side at times.I ask my friend to move out after almost 3 years as rent was just not being payed allot of the time.In 2017 he moved back in without telling me as I left him a key.

Finally in 2018 I am starting again selling my flat to my parent s and planning on running my own business and well living a more minimalist life style.I dont blame my friend I guess for what happened I guess I could have spoke up more,but perhaps at the time I felt like although the situation wasnt great and their are lessons to be learn`t from both sides.

I guess now I know to perhaps have stricter boundaries,and perhaps the most valuable lesson is to not rely on anybody else,other than myself,I think also I have to also accept whist perhpas I was disrespecting myself,and still am I guess I knew at the time perhaps to get to were I wanted to be it was a ok situation for the time being,you could say it was alchemy making the best out of a bad situation.Living with a friend was certainly better for my social life,help me adapt to living independently and I guess I did benefit slightly financially.

Despite all this are friendship is still going,you try move on from the past,but sometimes its not about the money,it can be about other things,things that you perhaps do not realize you have got from a situation,or perhaps the small none monetary things that people do for you are in the long run more valuable than moneyunfuck yourself.png

Sort:  

Hi indogoprana,
Nice post!
Friends and money do not go very well together. I had a similar experience but mine was with money I borrowed them.

Its true ,I thought at the time what i was asking for wasnt much,so i didnt think about what to do if things went wrong.I guess its all history now I did have expectations looking back on it which are never a given.I hope you experience help you though.

It showed me not to lend money to friends unless you really don't expect it back.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57642.15
ETH 2578.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49