Friendship that last forever

in #friends6 years ago

Friend. A common word we use everyday. 'He's my friend', 'my friend owns that dress', 'Thank you my friend'. These are common phrases used on a daily basis. But have we ever stopped to ponder what being a friend really means? Do we just use the word for the sake of using it?

people-3104635_640.jpghttps://pixabay.com/en/people-three-portrait-black-3104635/
www.pixabay.com

The word 'friend' usually means different things to different people. However the basic meaning of the word 'friend' is someone who you have a relationship, with mutual affection for each other usually devoid of sexual relations, or family ties. Now the important word 'mutual' must be taken into consideration. In any mutual relationship both parties gain from each other. In other words they are help mates. This is as opposed to a parasitic relationship in which one person is gaining and the other is either losing or not gaining at all. The popular phrase 'a friend in need is a friend indeed' points especially to this fact of mutual relationship. So many people you may call friends may not have qualified to be called that, probably because they haven't been tested with situations where they are required to show their support.

Another important quality of good friends is they must be able to influence you positively. They should add quality to your life. Some people have had bad experiences with individuals that they believed to be trustworthy friends and because of this have given up on true friendship. You hear such people say, 'I don't have friends, they just make my life more complicated' or 'this world would be a better place without friends'.

However, I beg to disagree. They haven't got the true meaning of friendship that's why they are disappointed. They have just qualified people as friends without allowing them to earn it. Most of the people they call friends are not really friends. Friendship should be earned.

True friends make the world a better place to live in. Imagine a world without true friends and you'll get what I mean. We cannot come into this world and be completely isolated if we want to succeed.

stock-photo-happy-brightful-positive-moments-of-two-stylish-girls-hugging-on-street-in-city-closeup-portrait-533952946.jpghttps://www.shutterstock.com/image-photo/happy-brightful-positive-moments-two-stylish-533952946
www.pixabay.com

We always need the support of true friends. They are part of our stepping stones to the promised land as we are part of the light shining in there path to achievement.

So when next you call someone your friend, think deeply about it: Has the person actually earned that status?

I appreciate your visit to my blog!!

Sort:  

I love this line:
'We always need the support of true friends. They are part of our stepping stones to the promised land as we are part of the light shining in there path to achievement.'
Thanks, I learnt something. In as much we need genuine friends, we must try to become one too.

Exactly. Friendship is a two way thing. Both parties must work actively for a healthy relationship @savio

Now imagine she said with a wink and a sign
If we can all be good friends,i'll be yours you'll be mine.
And I'll Know who you are
And I'll Know how you play
And I'll know that one scar
That gives you a painful Day.
Where you'll be I'll be
With my heart till the end,
And when you look at me,
Imagine we are friends.

Nice lines dear..thanks @sigmund

Indeed true friends make the world a better place, @stacey i bless the day i meet you, you have been a wonderful friend to me. I love this piece

Thanks sugar pie @arogboolabisi..#muah

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60589.35
ETH 2628.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53