On "The Rich Rewards of Friendship"

in #friends6 years ago (edited)

9780806635712_p0_v1_s1200x630.jpg

This essay by Alan Loy McGinnis, in his book The Friendship Factor, has helped me realise the value of friendships I’ve had with some of my closest friends. I may have just a few friends, but I cannot deny their worth and significance in my life. I must say that I am truly blessed to have them, because they are always there beside me when I really need them the most. I’ve faced many tragedies in my life (separation of my parents, most especially, the death of my father and my twin siblings, to name a few) but I am happy to contemplate that my friends were there when I wanted shoulders to cry on and their ears were always ready to listen to my incessant whining.

Friends are really great valuables that we do not want to leave our side, nor be taken away from us. We recognise their substance when they help us in fighting off our feelings of depression, isolation and despair. In this selected reading, I learned that if a person does not have a friend at all, he is always unhappy, insensitive of the feelings of other people, thus he also becomes emotionally vulnerable, and as a result, cannot become successful in their respective relationships.

The author is trying to say that even though we are too busy working or studying or striving to become that “somebody”, we still have to prioritize making friendships. McGinnis said, “As I’ve watched those who are deeply loved, I’ve noticed they all believe that people are a basic source of happiness. Their companions are very important to them, and no matter how busy their schedule is, they’ve developed a lifestyle and a way of dispensing their time that allows them to have several profound relationships with people.” This is actually true. Some can say that money and high economic status and established names will make a person happy, but in the end, this same person will try to find happiness in the company of people with whom he or she can share his or her joy and happiness. He/She will soon realise that money is not enough in order for him/her to become totally happy. He/She is lacking one fundamental source of happiness – friendship.

Again, even in a busy world where people move around a lot, we should still make ourselves available to keep in touch with our friends. We do not have to be afraid to befriend someone by thinking that someday he or she will have to move to another place or country, hence, the word “goodbye” is enormously painful. We have to prepare ourselves for all the hurt and pain that friendships and relationships will soon bring us (if there is), because in one way or another, these same people who have hurt us along the way have become special to us somehow. If we are worried that friends will leave us one day, what are emails, snail mails, instant messaging and phones for? These modes of communication will be best in keeping the friendship unbroken, because keeping the friendship gives us the feeling of happiness, and security as well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64182.15
ETH 3505.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53