My Best Friend

in #friends7 years ago

Is it sad to say that I consider my puppy to be my best friend?
Screenshot_20161225-213335.png

Some will say yes and some will say no. Nevertheless which way you feel, I know he's my best friend.
received_1527284564251263.jpeg
He was given to me in 2009. I had another Rottweiler that I loved dearly that had just died that year. At the time, I was a patrol sergeant for a sheriff's office and supervised a terrific squad. They knew how bad losing my dog bothered me so that Christmas, they gave me my baby boy "Colt". (Yes, I named him after the gun manufacturer)
received_10154391995839968.jpeg
I'm trying to find his old pictures but apparently they're MIA at the moment. But anyway, After taking the new dog home, I really had reservations about him. I honestly wasn't over losing Rocky yet and wasn't ready for this hellian. Heres a picture of Rocky.
orca-image-1501555328419.jpg_1501555328483.jpeg

But what could I do? Tell my squad to take hin back? They bought him from a soldier at Fort Bragg, so it was a difficult transaction. He was about 9 months old and one would think he was satans spawn! But I tried my best to bond with him and train him.
20140119_230406.jpg

Well, as time went by, I kinda got attachef to the little shit. He really took to me and recognized ne as his master. A true friendship has developed.

received_1527284590917927.jpeg

In 2013 I was diagnosed with MS along with other stuff and was bed ridden for a long time. It got pretty lonely staring at 4 walls all the time. But one thing helpedme get through those tough times and it was my dog. He stayed with me 24/7 and cheered me up at the worst of times.
received_1527285984251121.jpeg

We've formed a bond that I have never had with any other of my pets, even Rocky. He is extremely protective over me and stays by my side constantly. If I leave a room where he can't follow me, it drives him crazy! We know each others body language and can predict what the other is going to do.

20170730_165045.jpg

Well, he's getting older now and is reaching the end of his average life span. He's already lived longer than Rocky did. It's literally going to kill me when he passes. I'm tearing up now just thinking about it! I don't have any kids so he kinda fills that void, if that makes any sense. I love him so much! Gotta quit talking about it for now, the water is flowing!

received_1527284554251264.jpeg

20160516_194344.jpg

Sort:  

I love this story! Colt is beautiful and I am so happy to hear about the wonderful bond that you share. Isn't it amazing what our pets can do for us? I have had pets my whole life and I can't imagine my life without them. I hope that you both have much more time together than you think. May God bless both of you! And thank you for your service! You have a new friend now...me. :)

Thank you so much for your kind words! I also hope that we have much more time together. I just can't help but to think about it though and it tears me to pieces! You're right about our pets being gifted to help us with our depressions and challenges. I have been so blessed for having him in my life, I just don't want it to end.

And Colt has been blessed for having you as well! I know it is hard not to think about it; my heart goes out to you. Only pet lovers can understand how you feel and I hope and pray that your time together will not end soon. Both of you will be in my thoughts and prayers. Please keep in touch! :)

What a great post! Thank you. One never knows what life will bring. You got a great friend! 🐓🐓

Ahhh! Just when I thought this post was dead and gone, I noticed your comment! I'm glad I noticed it and thank you very much! I love him so much! I've always gotten attached to my pets (I have a real soft spot for elderly people, special needs people and animals) but this one has really got me wrapped! I think of him as a part of my family. Thank you again for taking the time to read and comment!

It is the same here. We have such a loving dog she knows our moods, tells time and is great company. Be well my friend. Glad you came by! 🐓🐓

Just out of curiosity, how did you come across my post? I thought after a few minutes, they drop off in to an abyss and never seen again lol.

I really look for good posts to read about and I did a search under dogs. Found your story and thought it was really good. Going to re-steem it. They don't drop off ever. Just 7 days active. You have a big heart. This post is resteemable! Your friend. 🐓🐓

Happy Sunday to you my friend. Am posting an article with you in mind later today. Hope you get a chance to stop by and read it. Your friend 🐓🐓

😁I will definitely be looking forward to it!

I only hope my internet allows me to get on here! I keep getting kicked off and it's taking forever to reconnect. So if I don't reply to it, you'll know why. But I will eventually read it lol. #TWC/SPECTRUMSUX 😠

We spend most of Sunday afternoon at the library where the wifi is free.

Thanks for sharing. My dobie Red is around 1yo now. Don't know what I'd do without him!

Understand totally!

Colt sounds like the perfect best friend! I feel the same way about my dog Lucy, she watches over me and takes care of me in so many ways. I have different challenges than you as they aren't physical, but she strengthens my life-force, frees me from despair that used to be quite significant and much more. In any case, great story and I don't believe it's sad to have a best-friend like Colt - he deserves that title!

What kind of dog is Lucy? Isn't it amazing how a pets love and personality can lift your spirits and help with things? That's why it's killing me to watch him get older and more fragile. He has helped me (and still does) in so many ways and whenever he does pass... Lord, it's going to hit me hard.

Congratulations @bluelightbandit! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received
Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

They are always there for you! Dogs are the best!

Yes, especially this one. I've never had a dog that loved me so much!

Beautiful dog. I'm glad you have him. Why shouldn't he best your best friend? I've thought about getting a Rottweiler ever since I saw The Omen (even though they falsely portrayed them as "the Devil's dogs." I just thought they were badass and really gorgeous. When I get a house with a lawn the first thing I'm going to do is get a dog.

They are definitely badass dogs lol! They have had a bad reputation in the past because people use them for fighting. They will make them as mean as possible for this reason and then all it takes is someone to get attacked by one of these fighting machines that someone created and the entire breed is tarnished.

Same thing with cops. One bad cop does something wrong or unethical and then every cop is labled. Don't get me started on that!

Yep, I definitely see that. You hear a lot of that with pit bulls as well and the same thing with people deliberately making them mean.

I agree about cops as well!

Oooh my goodness, what a sweetheart! I wish you many more years together. <3 <3 <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62716.82
ETH 2447.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65