Fuck It, Before It Fuck's You #138 (And get a seven hundred billion dollar tip)

in #fridaythethirteenth3 years ago (edited)

Hello Internetz! It’s me again. I know it’s already Saturday morning but I’m gonna call this my Friday the 13th post, because I feel like that’s a good day for a blog. I know a lot of people think it’s unlucky, but some say that’s just some shit the Christians made up because it was a sacred day to some of the pagan tribes who they forced to convert. I think the latter explanation seems far more likely myself, but that might just be because it’s more in line with my personal beliefs. As always, take everything I say with a grain of salt. In fact, take everything anyone says with a grain of salt, because everyone is most likely to believe whatever is in line with what they already believe. I’m just taking a moment to be honest with you about it.

Fuck It 2.jpg

One thing I believe, is that my government needs to get it’s military out of everyone else’s countries. Now supposedly that’s going to happen in Afghanistan soon, but it was also supposed to happen back in may, so I’ll have a little salt with that one too. In fact it’s tasting extra salty now that I hear more troops are going into Afghanistan now. Supposedly it’s just to evacuate the embassy staff, but we’ll see how that goes. Maybe the Taliban attacks the embassy after we so kindly asked them not to, and then the war’s back on. I’m not sure why they would do that, but I’m confident the CIA can make something up. Or maybe a bunch of generals convince the cabinet to declare that Biden is mentally unfit for office (which I’m have trouble arguing against.). Then in a historic moment that will be celebrated for generation, the first woman of color President of the United states orders a brand new troop surge into Afghanistan.. Well, I don’t know what’s going to happen. All I know is after 20 years of U.S. Occupation the Taliban controls more of Afghanistan than they did in 2001. I remember back then we were afraid it was going to be another Vietnam, but you can’t even call it that anymore since Vietnam only lasted half as long. And you don’t have to dig terribly deep to see the long term damage it’s done to our society. .
That’s an interesting word, “society”. Anyone remember Margarete Thatcher? Maybe not. Sometimes I have to remind myself that there’s whole ass adults now who weren’t alive for half of my life. She was the Prime Minister of England back in the 1980’s. She once said that there’s no such thing as society, only individuals and families. Which is an interesting thought. If I could go back in time, you know what I’d ask her? Why the fuck do you have a Queen then? You’ve got this obsolete relic from 1000 years ago (pretty sure that’s her actual age), just sitting on a throne looking all regal and shit and referring to herself as “We”. Then for some reason she gets a fucking salary from the taxpayers. You know, those individuals and families you’re so fucking concerned about. The only reason she’s there is because for some reason your society wants them there. And this same society decided to make you their prime minister for some reason, so maybe you shouldn’t so readily dismiss it. Just because your society makes questionable decisions, doesn’t mean it doesn’t exist.
Not that American society is any better, mind you. Look at the people we elect to lead us. Our choice is between Joe Biden and Donald Trump. A rapist who got rich with housing discrimination and a rapist who ran against the civil rights movement. Then at the state level you get people like Andrew Cuomo, the recently resigned governor of New York It’s funny how much our society condemns rapists yet can’t seem to stop electing them to high office. But apparently this guy’s excuse is that he’s Italian. I know Trump and Biden were both pissed that they couldn’t use that excuse. And this isn’t even the worst shit he’s done. For some reason people don’t want to talk about how he let old people die in nursing homes while the “left” was praising his pandemic leadership and calling him our other President. I guess he had the second shortest Presidential term in U.S. history, but at least Harrison went out like a man. Refusing to wear a coat in January then wondering why he was dying of pneumonia a month later. .
But I digress, often. I didn’t even mention Cuomo’s corruption scandals that would make a proper liberal’s head explode if Trump was the least bit involved. But what I’m ultimately getting at is the dirty little secret of western “Democracy” and that is that power doesn’t necessarily go to who the people want. Just like any other system, it goes to people who want it the most. And the people who want it most are sociopaths. So we just keep giving power to sociopaths and then act all shocked when they do shitty things with it, or we ignore it if it’s “our” sociopaths. But hey, that’s just my point of view, so take it with yet another grain of salt. And take your own point of view, and everyone else’s with a grain of salt. Then by stock in a salt mine and you’ll be rich! Then kick back and say fuck it, before it fucks you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 63598.38
ETH 2746.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65