You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: (Un)lucky Number 13 - What is it for you?

in #fridaythe13th6 years ago

I didn't think about it being Friday the 13th until I saw this post. And now that I know it's Friday the 13th, I'm going to continue not attributing anything special to it.
Humans are designed to find patterns in seemingly random patterns and data. We attribute meaning to things and correlate information. Just like any superstition of bad things happening, the brain associates the next bad thing to happen as confirmation of the theory.
Spill coffee on yourself on Wednesday the 23rd, how unfortunate.
Spill coffee on yourself on Friday the 13th, it's because it's Friday the 13th!
Walk under a ladder...10 hours later a bird poops on you, must have been the ladder thing. You could have got every green light while driving, got a big tip at work, any number of good things happen to you, but as soon as something bad happens, it confirms your superstition.

That's my thought about it.

As for the photo awards, I did go one year. It is worth checking out and seeing amazing photos IRL rather than just on a screen.

Sort:  

Yeah, I totally see what you mean. I actually wanted to see what people thought of Number 13 as a whole and not necessarily Friday the 13th (I just happened to post it on Friday the 13th, haha).

I mean it can be any number really, some people have a 'Number' of some sort that they bet on or see pop up all the time. Maybe it is all in our heads though and like you said, we're inclined to look for patterns? I think in my case I haven't noticed it until about 4-5 things have happened on that day of the month in the space of 4-5 years.

And absolutely, I just got my tickets so can't wait to go!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61775.46
ETH 3455.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52