Friday's RocksteemCreated with Sketch.

Here are some slices of a nodule that my son found. I love that he can look at the outside of something and know that there is something beautiful inside.

download_20181109_233659.jpg
download_20181109_233710.jpg
download_20181109_233735.jpg

Please join in #fridaysrock...any day is fine. Looking forward to seeing what people share.

Sort:  

It is always interesting to find what is inside. Beautiful colours inside.

I'm always amazed at how beautiful they can be on the inside.

Wow!!! That's one beautiful rock! ♥♥♥
Love the patterns!!! ♥♥♥
And colors!!!

Thank you! Glad you stopped by.

That is gorgeous and I agree that it is amazing that he knows enough to look inside!

He has been teaching me so much about agates...and showing me what to look for. It is really neat when he has a chance to cut one open and finds something beautiful like he thought he would. We have lots of fun doing this together.

That is so great! You reminded me of a childhood memory. I used to love sitting on the sidewalk with a hammer and breaking small rocks open just to see what was inside. I was most often very disappointed but possibility that there might be something really cool kept me going.

It's fun to think back to some of the things we did as kids. :)

I have been working on trying to identify rocks from the outside. It can be very difficult. I don't have a cutter so I end up hammering it to pieces. Of course, I've been wrong every time so far so nothing was lost. With the new job I'll be getting a stone cutter for sure!

A tile saw is an inexpensive way to go, but with it you lose more rock than if you have a lapidary saw. I'm sure you have some beauties that are just waiting to be seen!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63191.06
ETH 2551.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65