All that glitter are not gold - be contented

in #friction7 years ago (edited)

You're beautiful
heard a voice from my left say
Thank you
I replied ,I was on my way home,I ran an errand for my aunt under the my mums instruction.
I sat in the tricycle(keke) with two men, the driver in front and one at my side.I was just in a hurry to get down and prepare dinner for my parent ,they were all I had.

.The name is mike
he said.
Oh that's a good name
I replied not paying attention to what he wanted to say..I didn't want to continue the conversation
where are you heading to and what's the beautiful name
Mike continued
olanma, the name is olanma
and I intentionally skipped the first question.

One getting to the second junction a man entered ..looking strange and disturbed, after some seconds he broke the silence.

Hello,my name is Franklin, I sell shoes, bag of rice gold necklace and lots more
even at cheaper rate,
he added.
that's nice
I said looking interested .
I could give you all free as a promo just promise u get me customers
Mr Franklin said..

that's good
I added ..I love free things.

we could go there right now,its not far

We all agreed and I was so happy.

On getting to the place ,they took a different way and I became worried but never cared..at least anything for free rice and jewelries I said deep down.

oh stop,don't do this stop pleas

I screamed,trying to remove the handkerchief from my nose. That was the last I remembered.
I woke up,tired and I saw some men all on white and red.. I saw mike, the driver and Mr Franklin.. Then I knew it was all planned.
images (91).jpg
Image source
I began to cry and prayed to God to save me I was all my parent had especially my mother.
Oh God, save your child, I know I am a sinner but please save me for my mother's sake
I cried and remembered my mother's words of advice

All that glitters are not gold,never let anybody deceive you, be contended with what you have and what we have to offer.

I begged God and deep down I prayed.. So I won't see my mother again ..oh my sweet mother ..no more of your delicious food or your sweet songs of praises..all I wanted was to help..wanted to gift you a gold necklace and assist my dad with the bag of rice .that would have lasted for 6/7 months ..

The morning of my sacrifice came ..to be given to a certain god..

Take her away!! Take her away ,she's cursed
the priest said
and make sure you don't kill her
he shouted
but what's wrong with her baba
mike said
can't you see she has a closed right eye,she's incomplete
he added

That was the eye I wasn't proud of..I felt inferior about it ..I always wished I could work on it ..it was my deepest pain.

Mike took me with force ,hurting my wrist.he threw me to the ground and I heard a bone crack..he was angry.
I ran as fast as I could,begging every passerby to come to my aid. I didn't give up,kept walking and imaging me running into the arms of my worried mother.
images (93).jpg
Image source

hey you need some help
a man in a car said
I was scared but I had no other choice
yes
with a voice that couldn't be heard.

Gave him my address and prayed he was God's sent. He insisted I visited the hospital first but I begged me to take me to my mother..

There and then he drove me down to my father's compound.
I bursted into tears seeing my pale mother..father said she hadn't eaten since I left.
From that day I made up my mind to be contended with what my parent had to offer.

In this world there are good, bad and ugly people,not everyone is kind as you are .
Secondly material things rule the world and because of lust to the things,we get endangered.
Yes you're ambitious but you shouldn't be desperate.

As you have read in my story

olanma had a good upbringing but she was desperate, though her desperation was of good intention.

There are people who would help you and vice versa.
But be careful and know who you trust in your community..

            THANKS FOR READING SO FAR .PLEASE UPVOTE AND FOLLOW .
              
        God bless
Sort:  

This is a really nice piece with a quite important lesson to be learnt...Love it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 58889.18
ETH 2514.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47