Colorchallenge Monday Red + Frichallenge Tea bag Creations!

in #frichallenge6 years ago (edited)

DSCF0056.JPG

First day of my resumed Weekly Challenge #frichallenge where I picked Teabag Creations and #colorchallenge!

Read more about the #frichallenge here

So the idea with tea bag creations came when a friend of mine was making a lampshade of old teabags, and it looked super cool! Here is her lampshade in progress, I've actually never seen the end result:

DSCF7542.JPG

DSCF7543.JPG

(not my work, but my pictures)

So I started drying my used tea bags myself and put "tea bag creations" in my jar of creative ideas!

DSCF0042.JPG

Together with Tea Bags I picked #colorchallenge, which is a challenge made by @kalemandra and Monday is RED!

I wanted to do something with my dried leaves, so I collected all my red leaves and flowers:

DSCF0043.JPG

and tried experimenting. I've never done anything with teabags, so it's all really an experiment!

DSCF0044.JPG

I placed the dried flowers and leaves into the teabag, folded it over and put glue all over!

DSCF0045.JPG

I just use normal paper glue (PVC - PolyVinylAcetat, in Danish..) mixed with water, no special decoupage glue, though I think it works pretty much the same way.

DSCF0046.JPG

I made four and hung them to dry

DSCF0047.JPG

DSCF0049.JPG

Stitched them together..

DSCF0050.JPG

.. to a square :) For a tealight :)

DSCF0053.JPG

DSCF0056.JPG

Got the idea for the "candle shade" from this awesome blog by Kim Henkel: Letting in the Light She uses a lot of tea bags in her beautiful creations.

I am quite excited by the result of gluing the dried plants into the teabags, I think I might make a plant book this way :D Maybe tomorrow, all week is Tea Bag Creation week! Tomorrow will be TuesdayOrange!

Thank you for stopping by!

round.jpg


Directory of Steemit Posts
Community Forums

Sort:  

Hi frejafri,

Your post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Keep creating awesome stuff! Have a great day :)

LEARN MORE: Join Curie on Discord chat and check the pinned notes (pushpin icon, upper right) for Curie Whitepaper, FAQ and most recent guidelines.

Wow, this is a really beautiful lamp shade that you have created! My daughter has a similar one, but with wood cut outs rather than the transparent teabags. Does it get too hot with the tealight candle?

This is a first try for me, so I don't know! I am guessing that it will stay fine, since the temperature doesn't get so high, but I'll just have to try it out for a while to see how it reacts over time! The first time try was completely fine, but who knows Maybe it's a burning hazard! :S Don't try this at home kids! ;D

se ve hermosa esa lampara, saludos desde Steemitmamas

It looks amazing!
Beautiful illustrative post.

This is amazing, I really admire how you devote your a lot of time in doing something like this. You have a deep love for art... You were curied and you deserve it for such a wonderful work.

thank you! Yes I was a bit surprised, but very happy to get a curie! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64449.70
ETH 3164.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87