What Does A Panic Attack Feel Like?

Panic+attack_d638df_5296555.png

If you're reading this, you're either bored, interested or relate personally to panic attacks in some way, whether you have them frequently or know someone who experiences panic attacks on a regular basis.

I thought panic attacks were way more complicated but it's mostly about the existential dread, terror, hyperventilation, feelings of impending doom, etc. You know.. Usual stuff. I'm used to anxiety attacks but panic attacks are waaaay more intense.

Today, I experienced my first panic attack. I was sitting around my laptop, browsing YouTube and all of a sudden it was like I was suddenly really far away. I felt like I was losing what little grip I had left on reality.. Which is not even the scary part.

It's like, physically, experiencing a bunch of different weird sensations. It just feels like an easy opening act to sudden death. I was sure I would die. And all I could process through the cold sweats and hyperventilation was terror. Pure, unbridled, irrepressible terror. I was sobbing, shaking and just disoriented.

However, after I calmed down and took a nap, I got to thinking about how I never want to experience that feeling again. I knew I suffered from anxiety but when your anxiety turns into panic, friends, it's time to seek help.

Also, don't let anyone tell you that all you need to do is calm down. I come from a country where things like anxiety and depression aren't really acknowledged. Jamaican society believes that most of these disorders are not life threatening, can be cured with "positive thinking" or religious involvement, etc. So I'm constantly being told to stop overreacting and as such, have to suppress my anxiety.. Especially in public where my anxiety is highest.

Anyway, reply with any comments, tips or your own experiences with anxiety/panic attacks. Thanks for reading, guys. Namaste.

Sort:  

Congratulations @trishanaindira! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Vote
You made your First Comment
You published your First Post
You got a First Reply
You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @trishanaindira! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63186.04
ETH 3392.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50