What should The Fresh Five Account do with Payout SBD?

in #fresh57 years ago

I know not to many people are following this account at this point. However, I will resteem it from my main account, as I continue to look for ways to improve upon the Fresh Five initiative.

When I introduced this account, I made the statement that all Post rewards earned would be used to buy more Steem on the internal market and power up the SP of this account. That was with the thought that every post from The Fresh Five was going to come in valued at eh... $5-10. But thanks to the generous upvote of @stellabelle and a few others on this week's engagement post, the post is valued at over $50, and a new thought occurred to me.

As you may know, Tomorrow I will be announcing the winners of the Anything goes New Steemian Contest. I had 5 entries and am going to wind up giving out $18 SBD in prizes tomorrow. That is coming out of my @mikepm74 wallet. However, if we want to run more contests, I could utilize the SBD earned from posts by the Fresh Five to finance the rewards for these contests. I envision restricting entries to any contest sponsored by the Fresh Five to newer and less established accounts, so that the funds go to people who can really use it, not extra play money for established Steemians who make more on a per post basis than I do. Love you guys, but that isn't what the Fresh Five is about.

If you have followed me for awhile, I used to run a writing prompt contest with a piece of art by a fellow Steemian being used as a prompt to write a fictional story. I think I would like to do something like that again from this account if that sounds like a good idea to everyone. I see it as a way to help build up some new accounts, which I see as part of the mission of The Fresh Five.

But I want to put it to a vote. So here are the options:

  1. Maintain the promise I made in the beginning to Power Up with all rewards to the account.

  2. Use the SBD rewards generated by posts to this account to run contests highlighting the talents of our fellow Steemians.

Sound off in the comments and let me know your preference!

Thanks as always for being here!!!

Sort:  

I would love the second option, it seems to me that competitions are always a way to capture attention and generate balanced opportunities. I have very little time in Steemit, I am newly just exploring and knowing the many possibilities it has, but, I think that all the initiatives that bring people together to show their best of themselves are an excellent way to improve Steemit. Thank you for your effort!

Hmm that's a tough choice. On the one hand having something to sponsor contests with would be really good to have and give a huge incentive to give posts your all, on the other hand more powerful upvotes could possibly help the newcomers more in the long run. I'd say both options certainly have their own pros and cons. Maybe use just part of the earned SBD to buy Steem and power up? Given how cheap Steem is in SBD right now it might not be a good idea to pass on that opportunity, but it's all speculation based and the exchange rates might change even more drastically. I guess I don't think I can really help make a decision here, to me it's mostly unclear what the best action to take is.

It's an interesting dilemma. On my main account I consider my Steem from my posts as the power up, and I use the SBD to diversify into other crypto. Because of the way I have setup the curation trail, the Fresh Five should have curation SP rewards coming in pretty well. And my main account gives an upvote to all the posts too. So really, until such time as Fulltimegeek takes away his delegation, we can reward new folks pretty well.

This is the first time I realized you've migrated to a new account for this, I do love this work your doing and will now follow. I wonder if using the voting power somehow to reward the new users would be best, I'm not sure how your voting with this account, but maybe devote it to some of the new users who maitain a certain level of activity or something as extra motivation for them for there first month or something. If you thinking of something like that maybe a few people would chip in a toss you a few delegations as well. Not sure what your master plan is man.

Well, I have delegated 1200 SP from my main account to this one while I am receiving the delegation on my main account from @fulltimegeek. So this account is doing okay for SP at present.

The primary goal of this account is to draw people in to the engagement posts to start a conversation and teach the importance of getting out of your own blog. So most of the upvoting is going to introduceyourself posts and to comments on this blog. This account will not be following anyone, but my main account follows some of my fresh five picks and gives them upvotes from that account.

I don't have time to go through a feed for two accounts... can barely keep up with one feed. hahaha.

I don't really know, still trying to define the ultimate goals of this account. That's why I am looking for input. ;-)

I'm going to propose the option to use some to hedge against the possibility of a price implosion once Korean exchange interest in using SBD as their daily roller coast of choice comes to a grinding halt, and buy in with more SP when it's cheaper. So option 3. I'm not fun at parties, sorry.

hah! Well what I am probably going to do is sell the SBD to my main account and send back STEEM from my Curie earnings, then run the contests in STEEM so that it is easy for new users to power it up.

Honestly, if I could send Steem Power directly as a prize, that is what I would propose, power everything up and then send SP to contest winners so they don't have the option to sell the winnings and it has to be used to power up.

Meh.... it will all come out right in the end.

But thanks for the suggestion!

Fair enough, considering new users can't even load the internal market without it immediately eating up all their bandwidth and locking them out of even placing an order, lol. It'd be interesting to see what a steemit where steem and sbd didn't even exist would look like.

You can send SP to someone 😀 Just click the Power Up button on your Steem balance then click Advanced Settings to choose who to send it to.

Well isn't that snazy! I never even looked at what was under the "Advanced" tab there.... well that truly is an interesting option.....

I'm going to go with 2. I haven't found any good writing contests yet 😉

Don't know your thoughts on the MSP but if you sent newbies the registration fee for that it can be a big help to them. Someone did that for me me and it kept me going until I got a few followers that actually upvoted me.

Interesting Idea. I do like MSP, just never have time to hang out there anymore. But if you are aware of anyone who needs the funds to pay for their membership point them toward me. I can manage to sponsor some people in.

  1. I will participate in contests

Thanks for the support on steemit

Welcome newbies!

Well @mikepm74 you were the first person I decided to follow on Steemit.com and as such I am learning from you so whatever you do I am sure it will be something to learn from :-)

@thefreshfive dont worry
your content matters the most
you have the potential and that can be seen here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64448.82
ETH 2646.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77