Sort:  

What a great idea @mikepm74! As a member of @newbieresteemday and @asapers, I'm always on the lookout for new people to help out. I'll certainly keep my eye open to pass along to you as well.

It really does take a village doesn't it? But together, we can all work to make this platform awesome! Thanks for all your doing :)

Thanks for tagging me here on this @lynncoyle1 it also fits nicely with our other new project @greeterguild... Love seeing the larger steemians like @mikepm74 encourage us, it will be good for all groups involved to help him help others :)

Hey my pleasure @davemccoy! I can't believe I forgot @greetersguild..I've been spreading their name all over the place!!

And yes it is nice to see the big guys encouraging all of us ;)

Exactly!!! The big guys (and girls) will be very helpful as we try to keep connecting people and keeping this community growing! I hope you have a wonderful day Lynn!!!

hahaha I don't consider myself a "big guy" at all. I'm just a guy. I happened to buy some SP when it was cheaper to do so, and want to put it to good use. By the scale of things, I'm not even halfway to dolphin status yet!

But we do what we can. Thanks for your support!!

Well from where I'm standing, you're a pretty big guy haha , but I love how humble you are :)

And you are absolutely correct,

we do what we can.

It's all anyone can expect. And if we all do what we can, what a great place this will be :)

Cheers!

(Hey @beeyou, @amariespeaks, & @charisma777, check this out ;)

This is very nice. Finally a Steemian that understands the plight and frustrations of new Steemians. Bandwith ish has been a pain I've been battling with for weeks unending.im so glad to come across the post. I've read the rules and all I need to know. Does it mean that in the next five days I'll be nominating a new Steemian and dropping their link in the fresh five post?

For sure! You can post a link every day. After 7 days the current nomination post will become dormant and a new post will be made for nominations.

Although I said one link a day, right now we aren't getting any bites, so if you see some Steemians that need to be recognized, feel free to drop a couple a day if you wish! We want to feature these folks that are going to be the next wave of great Steemians!

Looking forward to your efforts!

I love this idea @mikepm74... I will forward this to the @greetersguild and they will definitely work with you on this project!!! Awesome and I hope your model sets a trend, it would be great to have more people following your lead! ;)

Appreciate your support Dave! I would love to see more people with more delegateable power doing things like this. Hopefully it will come to fruition, maybe it will, maybe it won't. In the meantime, we do what we can to move the platform forward!

@mikepm74 on behalf of the Greeters Guild, I would like to applaud you for this amazing initiative you are presenting to promote positive growth in the Steemit community. Thank you for your compassion and understanding of the roadblocks new members are facing, as well as your donation of SP to help other deserving community members on their journey. It is nice to see other like minded people working hard to break the cycle! Hats off to The Fresh Five!

@greetersguild is going to support your initiative and bring nominees to The Fresh Five! I wish you much success with this, if there is anything me or any of my associates can do for you guys, do not hesitate to ask!

I appreciate all the support I can get! Please make sure that any newer members of the guild are participating! I know 50 SP is not a ton, but I think it can make the difference between being able to post/comment sporadically versus consistently. and that is the goal here!

If 50SP is not enough encouragement, I had thought to make it two winners a week of 100SP for two weeks each instead of 3 for 50 for 3 weeks.... It may take some trial and error. But we'll have a smooth ship running before too long!

@mikepm74 you can count on us to do everything we can to bring folks in and help you build this initiative. I personally think what you guys are doing is great, even if it runs slow at first or doesn't meet your expected results, do not abandon ship. I'm confident this initiative will grow to heights you haven't imagined and I will do what I can in my power to see that happen.

This is very very cool @mikepm74 that is amazing that you are doing this, such a cool project. I look forward to sending you some worthy people that are definitely worthy of your consideration. Thanks!

Very much looking forward to what you bring us! We want to support all the new folks we can! Retention is key to long term platform success. Long term platform success is key to increase in value to our collective Steem tokens. This is how we make minnows into millionaires!

I too am in full support of this initiative and could not agree with you more. Those of us @greetersguild strive because of the delinquency rate in accounts started. (I apologize to everyone that has heard me quote this for the 100th time that has also commented on this post) 89% of all accounts started in 2017 did not post more than 30 times. There can be some reason for that number being that high, maybe a slight adjustment can be made due to the membership spike at the end of the year, but still that is a very high mortality/spam rate versus literal human contact. The real growth on here is going to be seen by helping those that freshly start and highly motivated to do what they are more than willing to do, get out and meet everybody they can and find out where they fit on here. I will start sending the best of the best I find for sure. BTW I am a college sports fan as well. But my first steemit post was on what the Chicago Bears needed to do in this coming offseason, back in December before the NFL regular season was even over. Lol, at least I got learn very quickly who my audience was right away.

This is so nice,new steemians links coming your way soon!

Looking forward to it! Bring us the new people!!

This comment has received a 0.24 % upvote from @speedvoter thanks to: @cryptkeeper17.

He do have the bandwidth problem in our Romanian comunity of steemians, and we also try to delegate some sp to new users. Seems like the SteemINC is running low on steem power, maybe because of all the new users adopting the platform.
Hope all is good, Mike.Have a great day!

It does have a lot to o with the new users coming on board, and the current block size that is adopted by the top witnesses.

Theoretically, the top witnesses could increase block size and that would eliminate the bandwidth issues. The counter argument is that reducing the bandwidth issues would increase the amount of Spam on the platform and would be unwelcome.

So the idea here is that by using our Steem Power to help people who are not going to spam the platform, but are trying to be producers of content with value, we selectively eliminate the bandwidth problem, while those who are using these new accounts to Spam the platform will run into bandwidth issues and taper off their posting.

Great way to counter the abuse. Keep it up, Mike!

https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@evoleno/let-me-introduce-you-new-steemian-me
This is @evoleno, he is on reputation 25 and he just posted his introduction post. I choose him because he is willing to learn how to blog. And he wants to be an entrepreneur in the nearest future,so grooming him from now will make him better. I also believe he is someone that will share his knowledge to people through his subsequent posts

https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@chandus/my-introductory-post
Here is@chandus ,she is a Nigerian and a nurse.The reason why i chose her is that is likes meeting people,making friends. I believe she will make a good greeter

Can one nominate one's own newbie blog, or is that gauche?

Sort of taboo... but I went over and took a look anyway. Cute initiative you have going there. Gave you an upvote, but not exactly what I am looking to feature.

But feel free to bring me more new steemians you come across and try to get a delegation from me that way!

oops. Thanks for taking a look, @mikepm74.

I've found one blog that I recommended, and will keep a lookout. There are a lot of talented writers and photographers joining the platform!

We're glad to be on steemit. P.O.Tassium228x320.png

Your nomination was one of the winners!

Check out my latest post, and check your wallet where you will see the 50SP delegation is in effect! Use it wisely young banana! LOL

Thank you, @mikepm74! This SP is mine to use for 3 weeks, do I have that right?

And could you please give me a few newbie tips on using that? As I vote on people's posts, I understand I only have about 20 votes per day before going to zero?

Yup, this is good through April 7th. At which point I have to take it back and let it "rest" before I can give it to another new Steemian in need.

So here's the thing about Bandwidth, every time you vote, comment, post, basically do anything in Steem it uses a little piece of your bandwidth that then has to be regenerated. Text is easy, but loading in pictures, memes, videos, those can suck up bandwidth in a hurry.

As for the voting, each vote costs you 2% voting power. You regenerate up to 20% Voting Power in a day, so really, in order to keep voting power up, you should be limited to 10 votes a day. As you get more Steem Power and cross over 500 total, you will get your slider that allows you to vote with less than 100% power, so you can spread more votes without losing the Voting Power.

Realistically, when you are starting out, you should be concentrating more on commenting on other people's posts, and engaging with people who you want to have follow you so that they are interested in coming to see what you are doing on your blog. Your upvote at $0.01 is not moving the needle a while lot, so save that for the stuff you really like.

Concentrate on good content creation, in your own posts and in the comments you make. Your vote will gain value over time and when it starts to make an impact on people's payout then you can worry about upvoting other people.

Just don't upvote yourself on some comment you make if you didn't upvote the main post. That's considered rude.

Feel free to let me know if you have specific questions I can help with.

Thank you, that was all helpful information. I'm excited for this opportunity to really participate on the platform.

I don't see the 50SP in my account yet. When will that arrive?

It's there.

If you go to your wallet, under Steem Power you have 0.606 (+64.348) the added 64+ is the Steem Inc delegation all new users get of 14.something, plus the 50 from me. You have an effective voting wieght of a little over 65 SP at this point.

You can also check your stats at steemworld.org/@bananamemos for additional information about your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62040.10
ETH 2417.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58