You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Fresh 5 Writing Contest - Madre Del Muertas

in #fresh56 years ago

Reminds me a little of Modjadji, the traditional matriarchal head of a local tribe, the Balubedu, living in Limpopo, a northern province of South Africa. She is also ascribed some magical powers, including the power to make rain, from where her popular title "The Rain Queen".

In case anybody is interested, she inspired the British author H Rider Haggard to write a book simply titled "She". How valid this piece is as a work of reference as to her true history and nature is of course debatable.

My late father-in-law claimed to have been one of the rare outsiders allowed to visit the then ruling lady. Strangers are apparently not allowed to approach her directly, and are led in walking backwards and after offering a present of sorts may only converse with her in a respectfully bowed down position.

I'm not an expert, so how true any of this is I can't tell!

Sort:  

That's a neat story about "She" and your father in law, I may have to read that book sometime.

It was also made into a movie. Ayesha, or She Who Must Be Obeyed, was played by Ursula Andress.

She Who Must Be Obeyed was also my ex wife.

Trust me, I'm a doctor.

Catweasel-c.png

I also know how to read you and so I will not ask if Ursula Andress is your ex wife, because She Who Must Be Obeyed was every man's ex wife, and some current men's wives .
Trust me as well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67203.60
ETH 3513.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.20