The Steem Translation Ecosystem: Could We Become the Most Multi-Lingual Community on the Web?

in #french7 years ago

Add another translation to the list... I'm in four languages now, motherfuckers!

The newest translation for my token investigation series is in French, done by the wonderful @arnauze. Arnauze approached via Twitter DM to ask about translating... he told me that he's studying to become a certified translator in the USA, and also interested in investing in altcoins.

It sounded like a great opportunity to spread some altcoin knowledge to a new group of people. I've never spoken French, but I know a lot of people who love that language.

It's Working - People Need These Translations

The coolest part is that people are really responding to the translation. Check out the comments:

That's some real engagement :-)

Non-English speakers make up a significant part of the steemit community from what I understand. There's a lot of Korean posts in particular, and I'm seeing more spanish threads lately too... perhaps expanding on the multi-lingual component of steem is a path towards more growth.

The Steem Translation Ecosystem

On other web forums, translating a post is a lot of work for little reward. Here, if the translator gets permission to post the translation on their own blog, they can earn some rewards and get paid for translating.

A popular user could have a team of translators who are paid by the steem blockchain, greatly simplifying the process of becoming an author in 2+ languages. In a future where steem was mainstream, we could see the most popular users being translated in dozens of languages every day... I don't think there is a blog on earth currently doing that.

Cool!! Huge thanks to @arnauze again for doing this. I just resteemed his translation, you can look at my blog if you want to give him an upvote :-)

Have a great Saturday,

Sort:  

The reason there is so much Spanish appearing is Venezuela. With a minimum salary barely able to feed a family of four for 10 days, people are desperate to find ways to make ends meet. A meal for four, cooked at home costs around $5. A good post on steemit might make a couple of dollars. When you can only feed your family for 10 days, people are desperate to find alternative sources of income. Steemit is becomming popular for those Venezuelans who can write.

If you would like to help relieve poverty in Venezuela - caused by hyper-inflation, then please think about up-voting posters from that country.
Here is a new Steemian from Venezuela: https://steemit.com/@labonita

Here is another poor Venezuelan with 2 children who is blogging here: https://steemit.com/@karlin

Got it. Thank you for sharing this information @swissclive - I've heard a little bit about the situation in Venezuela and it sounds really tough right now. I'll look into those two users you linked and maybe I can try to find some other ways to contribute in the near future...

Thank you very much, I'm really excited about it ! Your content is incredible and if I can help the Steemit community in their journey to becoming the most knowledgeable of the internet, it is even better !
I'm working on the #48 atm, and can't wait for your next analysis.

So for everybody out there, spread the word about this superb new series of article, and stay tuned !!

I think you're on to something. I was approached by individuals that wanted to translate this article for me. https://steemit.com/bitshares/@kimchi-king/which-cryptocoin-could-overthrow-bitcoin

It's already been translated into French, and Vietnamese. I'm still waiting for the Spanish version so hopefully that will be done sometime soon.

It's truly amazing to have such wonderful people offer to support the Steemit community like this.

Matt, have you had any luck finding someone able to translate your articles into Chinese?

I'm really looking for someone.

Keep up the outstanding work and I'm always excited to read your next report on the top 50 cryptocoins.

Ah cool! It seems like some content creators / bloggers are looking at steem to find good content to translate.

I don't know of any translators for Chinese languages yet... but I will keep my eyes peeled! Thanks for the kind words man.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66244.62
ETH 3320.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70