Laws and it's Consequences /#freewrites

in #freewrites5 years ago (edited)

Freewrite for the third of january with the prompt; new laws

My Entry.


I have never really paid attention to the politics, bills, senate hearings and other related things in my country. I am subscribed to different news letter so I read a lot on the news. For the political/government section, I skimmed through. Until there were news about the government passing new bills that would be of advantage to graduates.

There's a 1 year program called NYSC(National youth service corps) to be undertaken by all Nigeria youths after graduation. The youths are paid a stipend of (19,800naira) monthly, so the new bill was going to increase the stipend to (40,000). (Well, this news would also apply to me so I started following;things money make you do). I even watched the senate seatings. At the end, the bill wasn't passed.


I was already hooked to political news so I kept reading about them. And when they passed the anti-grazing law, I felt it was right. The herdsmen should have a place to graze, it's wrong how they enter different bushes to graze and end up eating farmers crop.

I was too naive to think there would be no repercussion for the new law passed. Until the bloodshed started. After the law was passed, the herdsmen refused to adhere and when the cows destroyed another plantation, the farmers killed the cows. In return the herdsmen started killing people, children, families were lost to this war. The government wasn't able to curb this for months, so there were news on different killings every week.

For every new laws, there were consequences. And sometimes, the only thing you can do is to just pray for a mild, non brutal consequence.

picture source: pixabay
IMG_20190106_085656.jpg

Join the freewriters and write daily. You also get to win SBI and lots of other contest to participate in. Follow @mariannewest and @freewritehouse for more details

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64678.67
ETH 3086.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87