Translator (Freewrite Challenge)

in #freewriters4 years ago


Source: Pixabay

I started studying sign language in 2006. Back then, tbere are lots of questions in my mind, and wondering if they construct sentence the way we used to as hearing people. Then I found out, they have different grammar except if a deaf person is signing in exact English.

I volunteered teaching in a vocational school for persons with disabilities, and focused on deaf people. I also served as an interpreter in a center for young deaf people led by the social welfare department.

Whenever some of my deaf friends need a translator to relay their message to a hearing person, they call me to provide assistance. I even helped them to communicate with the authority so they can apply for driver's license, marriage license, and acquire certificates.

In our meetings in sign language, whenever someone attends who doesn't understand sign language, I used to interpret either in Tagalog, Pangasinan, or English. Gladly, they understood the interpreting, which is fulfilling on my part.

For the first time, I became an interpreter for the wedding of a deaf couple. I am nervous at that time because I don't know what to expect. I don't even have an outline to rely on, and just use my ears, brain, and hands to relay the message.

I do not earn from translating amd interpreting. I do it voluntarily. No matter how hard it is, I love to translate or interpret to anyone. It feels good to become a bridge for two people to communicate, and understand each other.

Sort:  

Wow that was very heartwarming @iyanpol12, thanks a lot for sharing, it's awesome.



Made in Canva


This post is AWESOME!

It has therefore got a manual 100% upvote from @thisisawesome, for the Awesome Daily Upvotes in category Freewrite, I give out 1 such vote in that category per day, plus 4 more in other categories, and your post will also be featured in today's Awesome Daily report for more visibility.

The goal of this project is to "highlight Awesome Content, and growing the Steem (Hive next week) ecosystem by rewarding it".


Source

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57932.25
ETH 2469.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37