Nest

in #freewritepoetry5 years ago

My griefs
rest in my breast today
like tiny eggs
in a hummingbird's nest


This is my entry to @mariannewest's freewrite challenge https://steempeak.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-585-5-minute-freewrite-monday-prompt-nest.

I wrote and wrote on this prompt today. I tried three times to use the prompt to continue a previous three part freewrite story and trashed all three attempts. Then in desperation I tried a freewrite poem. I wrote oodles and oodles for 4 minutes and 30 seconds, then spent 30 seconds throwing words out. These four lines are the only ones I decided to keep. It's a good thing I like them.

I will never try to force a prompt into some box again, lesson learned.

Thank you for reading.

Sort:  

Glad the eggs weren’t scrambled 😂 Seriously, a cute poem.

Thank you for reading and commenting! They weren't scrambled. Just about to burst open though.

I fully appreciate what you saved of this. It's vivid. Think of how many photos are discarded when a photographer picks up a camera. Words, too, can be discarded in the name of art.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you for that comment. I know nothing about photography (evidenced probably by the images I use for my posts) and it's nice to know that many are tossed before we get to see one. I tend to spend a full week or more on even the shortest of poems, and I do like this one, so it was worth the time.

I used to do some hobby modeling in my 40s. We would shoot for hours and perhaps 2 or 3 good images would result. :) I'm glad you shared with us.

Posted using Partiko Android

Now THAT is very interesting! I complain that few pictures of me are any good. I figured I am just not photogenic, not that we just weren't taking enough of them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62108.99
ETH 2429.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64