The Puzzle (Freewrite Prompt: Puzzle)

in #freewritepoetry6 years ago

The Puzzle

I've lost myself in a room
a room that is my mind
the doors are closed and the windows shut
scattered puzzle pieces on the ground

my mind is like this puzzle
so complex with jagged edges
it screams at me to fix it
to escape from this hell bound place

I cut myself on its pieces
an attempt to fix something unknown
like the puzzle the scars are scattered
on my wrist my thighs my fingertips

I sit on the ground for days
struggling find the secret
not caring that the doors are unlocked
and that I can just walk out

decades pass and I'm still here
covered in scars head to toe
my skin is wrinkled and my eyes are shot
my heart failing to beat

I've almost finished this puzzle
just one more piece to fill
this piece however is missing
and I've wasted all these years


Thanks to @mariannewest for this freewrite prompt!


Sort:  

YOu write really good... your words can be easily felt. keep on writing @emms

Thank you so much!

WOW. That last part was SO powerful, I had to go reread the entirety of the poem again. Wow. Just amazing writing!

Thank you so much!! It means a lot! :)

Am touched by your choice of words.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63750.99
ETH 3130.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95