Day 608: 5 Minute Freewrite: Thursday - Prompt: posted

20190620_111741[1].jpg

The note was posted on the door:
"You love me, dear? I love you MORE!"
And then he went his weary way,
His grinding, "make-a-living" day .

I have no doubt he wrote the truth,
For, braving corporate's claw and tooth,
He earns a better life for me,
And our dear blooming family.

"You love me MORE; I love you BACK!"
That's what I posted on his snack
For I got up, ten after four
BEFORE he posted on the door.

I saw him writing, so went to
The kitchen, with some things to do
I pulled out all his favorite things
(Like celery and chicken wings)

So off he went, his pack complete,
With all his favorite snacks to eat!
I know he smiled, and wrote again --
To nurture love, against the grain.

He'll soon be home, and I'll be here
Deeds done by me to make love clear
For what we say AND what we do
Is just the work to keep love true!

Photo Credit: Deeann D. Mathews, the author

Sort:  

What a lovely poem, the love and happiness is shown and it reads so easily. 😍

Posted using Partiko Android

I often try to show the brightness of what can be, so we can all aspire to be the kind of people who can achieve it..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62907.89
ETH 3379.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50