You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Perfectionists - Chapter 8 - The Apple - Day 8 of #freewritemadness - NaNoWriMo

in #freewritemadness6 years ago

Hey man, thought you should know: You have great blog posts but they may not be getting seen as much as you like. I came very close to unfollowing you for two reasons: 1) You resteem too much. I want to follow you, not who you're following. 2) You use the same picture for all your original posts making this account look like spam.

I actually took the time to open a post to see what you're writing so now I can see that you are legit. Not everyone may be doing this for you. I suggest creating a new, original picture for each of your new articles. It would even go a long way if you made more than one picture. Put all your ads at the bottom. The beginning of your post reads like marketing, which smacks of spam. I opened the page to see what was original about it, so you're lucky I took the time to scroll too!

Anyway, I like your writing style and I look forward to seeing more from you.

Sort:  

Agreed with all your points. :)

hi @cryptosharon! Thanks for the heads up, good to see you :)

Thank you @artopium! That is some really good feedback. These posts are different from my usual freewrite posts, in that they're chapters of a novel I'm trying to write in one month, which is quite a challenge. That's why the same pic on each one. I've honestly been so overwhelmed with this undertaking that I haven't given much attention to my layout, and you're right, it looks like spam. I'm going to go back and take all the event promo stuff off the tops of the posts and move it to the bottoms as you suggested. I've also drastically shortened my introduction text on the newer posts. And I think I'm going to give the chapters titles as well as numbers, to distinguish them from each other. But I am going to continue using the one pic as that's the way I usually do it when writing serialized fiction.

Normally I hardly resteem at all, but I'm trying to support the other writers this month. So it'll be back to my usual clean blog feed next month, but in the meantime I'll definitely take your advice and try to tone it down :)

I'm glad you checked to see what the post was about, even tho it looked like spam, and that you liked the writing! I've been posting original poetry, fiction, non-fiction, songwriting, visual art, and performance since shortly before the beginning of this year, so I definitely don't want it to look like I'm shitposting lol. Thanks so much again for the heads up, and I look forward to checking out your blog :)

Hey man, absolutely. And I've started reading chapter one. ;)

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 64876.28
ETH 2650.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81