You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Let's look for love, stop the hate, and spread #positivity, as @freewritehouse @theluvbug and other communities do

in #freewritehouse4 years ago

Writing freewrites and publishing them is an act of courage, reading freewrites is an act of love. I pity those who can not see the value of either of these. Their loss.

Sort:  

Well said!
Also, I do not put much stock in the literary judgment of those who call themselves "serious" and "professional" -- I trust my own judgment and ignore the two-star bandits. Maybe I'm overly generous with some of my 5-star reviews, but one in particular, I defend. Yes, the Indie Author missed a few typos ("sloppy! lazy!") - but this book remains one of my all-time favorites. It's brilliant. The author, a doctor, became a mother and never found time to publish another novel. (She uses a pen name; I've never found her online.)

The Neanderthal's Aunt by Gina DeMarco is relevant with #coronvirus spreading
5 Stars - a book I can read five times and laugh out loud every time - and cry, too!

Oh you are good. I never want to find myself on your bad side. xo

And I ordered the book, loved your review of it.

I was going to give you a copy! I was waiting to hear if you prefer Kindles, like I do!
I hope you love this even half as much as I do. How anyone could 2- or 3-star it was beyond me.
The timing, the sequences of events, the convergence of events: it was Shakesperian, the way Romeo and Juliet have that exquisite sense of timing. If this, then that. Every even matters, even the transport van of prisoners early in the novel. The heroine's research, which was back story at first, but mattered, later on....in this age of the blockchain, not just of the internet:

this is the age of the internet, where every silly thing you say can leave a trace. And if you search hard enough you can still find some old references to the original article.
... every silly thing you say, particularly if it is read by many thousands of people, has the possibility of creating all kinds of ripples, coursing through the universe, causing all kinds of things to happen in people's lives that no one ever intended.


I can't wait to hear what you think of this novel! Whenever I discover an author I love, I want to form a fan club and discuss the whole story, spoilers and all. Book reviews prohibit spoilers. There goes the fun for me exclaiming over the best parts.

Amy Rogers, a publisher (ScienceThrillers) said at goodreads that she gets a lot of requests to review book (so do I) but

Only a handful make it into my TBR (to be read) pile. Something about The Neanderthal’s Aunt caught my interest. Once I started reading, I couldn’t believe my good fortune. Gina DeMarco’s new novel is the most fun book I’ve read in quite a while, and possibly the best indie novel I’ve ever read. Now, before any critics start flying off the handle, yes, I acknowledge the ebook (currently this title is only available in digital format, and only at amazon.com) has a lot of typos. I did not fail to notice. However, the extraordinary voice of the narrator and the many times I laughed out loud were more than enough reward to ignore those editorial oversights.

You might especially appreciate the urban mothers... but if you identify with them and agree with all of their parenting concerns, erm, sorry, I was laughing along with the heroine about some of their extreme views. :)

To be fair, these mothers entertain some crazy ideas, like returning not just to midwives but to mothers eating placentas.... for real....the heroine does not approve.

The mothers of all non-human mammals eat their placentas because they're hungry and they do not want the smell of afterbirth to attract a predator to eat their babies. So, if you happen to give birth while you are out alone on safari, you are in the proximity of a pride of lions, and your broken-down Range Rover has neither a loaded gun nor a cooler full of food, nor doors, then I would say that eating your placenta is certainly a good idea.

She's hilarious! And she's freewriting!

I'm confident you'll find much to love. E.g.

Hanlon's razor tells us to never attribute to malice that which is adequately explained by stupidity. Humans have a long history of underestimating the power of science. But they overestimate it as well...

oh I am in love

Another line I love (there are so many!) -

People have children for all sorts of reasons. Mom said she had me because she had too many mimosas at Auntie Carol's wedding, and daddy looked good in his polyester suit."

Oh I feel so much pain in that. holy cow.

LOL!
Pain, yes, and yet the dark comedy of it...

Ohhh man, I hope you won't be mad at me - the baby shower scene satirizes the anti-vax moms, but it also satirizes food allergies, and I know all too well how legitimate those are, just as you know all too well how real vaccination dangers can be. There's also the not-that-funny aspect of the heroine being an irresponsible dog owner. I'm remembering now why someone said this novel is barely worth two stars. I, however, love everything else about it so much, I stick with my 5-star rave. I just hope you don't hurl the book out the window when you meet the socialite moms....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60078.84
ETH 3197.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45