You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Baby Doe - Day 488: 5 Minute Freewrite: Wednesday - Prompt: baby

I started reading these prompts a few days ago and it really amazes me all the talent steemit has. I'm starting my writing journey and always try to read good content -I'm not a native English speaker- so I can find new words to expand my not so vast wording thus any tips might come in handy. This is a great piece for reading and improvement. Cheers!

Sort:  

Thanks John, and know that you will find help and encouragement, not criticsm, at #freewritehouse. Building vocabulary is tough for native speakers - using words with the right syntax is harder still. I've given up arguing that it's "on purpose, by accident," not "on accident," and don't get me started on idioms - "change tact" is wrong; it's a sailing term, "change tack." This is from native English speakers! Often, non-native speakers are BETTER at correct usage. The list of offenses is so long, we English teachers just have to say "Well, language does evolve," and let it go. We are outnumbered. Write on @jonsnow1983!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67462.12
ETH 2623.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67