Fun With Tags

brought to you by brisby

Are You Checking Your Tags?

001-divider-darkteal.png

      So, we've finished our post. It's full of everything we want to say (or what we could fit into 5 minutes 😉), has a photo, and is complete with a catchy title.

      Now we just have to decide what tags to use.

      Choosing the proper tags for our posts is important for many reasons. On the blockchain, they're used for categorizing, sorting and labeling content to facilitate browsing. For example, using #freewrite makes it so that our fantastic stories and related fun can be found easily. Typically there is a limit of 5 tags, although posting from platforms like Steepshot allows for more. The first tag used will be what category the post will be placed under. Once posted, it can't be changed like the others can.

      There are general tags, such as #story, #contest, and #humor. Posts within these tags can cover a broad range from which to narrow down your search. Other tags are used for specific contests or communities, for example: #freewritehouse (shameless plug 😎), #isleofwrite, and #thealliance. The use of these sorts of tags are to aid those involved in the contest or community locate posts relevant to their interests.

      It's important to use tags that pertain to what the post is about. Not only so that those interested in the topic will be the ones reading it but so that the author doesn't receive a flag for tag spamming. Yes, that is a thing. The #introduceyourself is just one of the tags that has users abuse it in hopes to get higher visibility for their work. There are many who scrutinize tag use and will call out those who consistently post irrelevant material. So, don't do it. 😁

001-divider-darkteal.png

So, Where's the Fun?

      Ever get to the end of reading or watching a post and find an extra laugh hidden within the tags? A final joke made on the way out of the door? Many of the freewriters like to use their fourth and fifth tag to have some fun. After all, why not? It may not hit the trending tag list, but sometimes, that isn't the point.

      Yes, using all the proper tags will increase the chances of a post being seen and read by as many people as possible. But, we're all about creativity and enjoyment here in the Freewrite House! So, if you're ever stuck on what to use for your final tag, try making one up! Maybe it will catch on and others will jump in on using it. Also, you'll be able to see how closely the readers pay attention! 😉 After some of the tag examples below, the responses were priceless!

A few tags from @omra-sky's, @snook's, and @brisby's posts.

      What great tags have you seen? Any ideas for fun ones to use? Let us know!


001-divider-darkteal.png

Join the Freewrite daily prompt

freewrite-2-350.png

And join us at the Isle of Write in the freewriter - retreat

IOW COLOR LOGO.png
art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

Sort:  

Lol, considering how I tend to miss some prompts, I should use a tag like this #crapimissedanotherfreewrite or #whatwasithinking

Oh my, me too!

those are excellent tags!! I think I need those too... 🤓

Lol, most likely we all will :-)

Great tags, especially the first one, need to borrow this probably a few times a week, lol!!

It looks as if I'm in good company here!

#cureateme 🤗
#imokru - I'm okay, are you? 👌
#fartsunamis - Far Tsunamis 😉
#imparsenalahead - Imp Arsenal Ahead (For short, loaded Freewrites) 😮

Bwahahahaha! This group is always fully loaded Deacon!

I didn't get tsunamis at all. I couldn't get past the fart.

Too funny.

My favourite tag was by a trans woman: #byepenis

It probably must have been over a month ago, but to this day, that is the most memorable tag.

That would be a memorable tag!!! 🤓

Okay, I really like that one!

I never pay attention to tags, but I will now! I also think I might add a fun one on my next blog/freewrite!

looking forward to that!!!

How about this one #steemingroundthemountain 😊

that is cute!!! 🤓

Had to be done 😊
Wishing you many smiles 😊

Love those!!!!!! Both of them!! We need to make them trending tags!!! LOL

Looks like I have been missing out on some laughs so I will definitely be looking at the tags now. Sometimes when something comes out of left field when I am writing, I say #whereinthehelldidthatcomefrom. So to make it short I might start using #whatthehell

Great one! That's definitely a tag I could use often, too!

With this group - you have to be on your toes. You never know where the crazy fun is happening 🤪

Isn't that the truth...I should have known better! : )

I don't always pay attention to the tags, but I noticed a good one just recently, it I can only find it now.... Oh yes! It was from @pixiehunter, just yesterday. #toomanypromptsinonestory. Maybe that was the result of this post, considering I'm reading it 5 days later.

that is a good one!!!

Great post, passed it on for people so they can learn a little bit😎

Thank you, kind Sir 🤓

Thank you so much!

One day if I ever get stucked on the fifth tag I will tag this #dontknowwhattotag

lol

that is a good one too!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60994.68
ETH 2938.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46