Freewrite #17 - Wire

in #freewrite6 years ago

christian-spies-15207-unsplash.jpg
(Photo Credit : Christian Spies)

The wire is a simple, manmade object that holds things together. Over the years, I’ve gravitated towards using the term, “wire” as a visual or metaphor for everyday occurrences. A piece of wire is such a subtle thing. Most people don’t give wire a second thought. Wire is instrumental in holding together foundations.

For me, when I hear my friends talk about their wife being their rock, I immediately think that if that is the case, friends are the wire that keeps the foundation steady. My friends are individual pieces of wire that keep me together. They keep me on point. They keep me stable.

Friends are what helped me recover from death.
Friends give me the memories I cherish the most.
Friends are the wire that creates this art I want to present to the world.

Without my friends, I am mere a shell of my self.
Without those wires keeping my foundational blocks stable, I am just a crumbly, wobbly piece of concrete that collapses under pressure.

Wires keep this structure in place.
One of my personal objectives, in this game called life, is to surround myself with as many sturdy, thick pieces of wire I can find.

I don’t call someone a “friend” easily. I have a nickname for the friends I feel closest. My friend circle is called “VIP Gold Circle Seating”. I have a West Coast table and an Okie table. Being born and raised in Tulsa, Oklahoma, I have several people that I would do anything to help. They comprise the Okie table. Same can be said for my California life.

I am only as strong as my weakest link. My support network is this golden circle. My criterion for true friendship are to surround myself with people that do not want anything from me, are supportive when I’m feeling down and cheer when I do something right, for a change.

My “wires” only want me to thrive and be the best structure I can be.
My “wires” don’t tell me that I can’t do something.
My “wires” strengthen me and make me a better person.
My “wires” keep me sane.

Wire is something one should never be without.
Wire is needed to get through this thing called life.

My father always said that you are lucky if you can count the number of true friends you have, in this lifetime, on one hand. I’ve been blessed more than most.

Analyze your friend circles and ask yourself if each person, you consider to be your true friend is supportive of you. Do they give you ideas to do things better? Are they supportive?

If your “wires” sit around and tell you dozens of reasons why :
“You can’t”
“You won’t”
“You shouldn’t”
“You’ll never”

Consider booting them out of your life. Life is too short to be surrounded by toxic people that don’t have your best interests at heart. You have one life. Make it count. Pursue whatever you think will make you happy. Go after that degree. Learn all you can to hone that craft that brings you joy. Life grinds you down. You don’t have time to have a bunch of people in your ear telling you “no” all of the time.

You can do any damn thing you want to do.
The first step is believing you can do it.
The second step is actually getting after it.

Analyze your wires.
Are they made of copper or cheap plastic?
Do they provide strength or are they just in the way?
How many wires do you have and how strong are they?

Socalsteemitbanner2.jpg

#SoCalSteemit is building and supporting the Steemit community of Southern California. If you are from SoCal and are into creating quality content here on Steemit, we'd love for you to follow us @SoCalSteemit and join our group on Discord!

Sort:  

Comment removed

Awesome freewrite Zin! Glad to see you're still at it!

Are you coming to the show today? Should be pretty fun. https://steemit.com/steemstar/@littlescribe/live-show-in-one-hour-eeek

You're absolutely right, I've never given wire a second thought!

Greetings and felicitations, it's the promptest of prompt technicians here with your challenge for today: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-217-5-minute-freewrite-thursday-prompt-appetite

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62795.05
ETH 2941.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55