A Fictional Freewrite: Cold Person

in #freewrite5 years ago

@mariannewest's freewrite prompt of the day: cold person: https://steempeak.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-740-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-cold-person.
I borrowed the idea of a story in journal entry format from a story by @manoldonchev. Thanks man!


Journal Entry date: August 13, 2863
Location: Ellesmere Island, Canada

Today was our 30th day excavating this frozen ice cap. There are a few things bothering me about this entire expedition, namely, firstly, why on earth anyone would have migrated this far north to live in the first place; secondly, why the Institute thinks that this would be a good place to explore and excavation, and third, why I volunteered for this in the first place. Surely nobody actually lived here. Ever. I know I wanted to get away from the wife for awhile, but not even she’s as cold as it is here. This was a dumb idea. There are parts of me that I don’t think I can feel that I really would like to be able to feel again. It’s cold!

Journal Entry date: August 15, 2863
Location: Ellesmere Island, Canada

So it turns out I was likely a little incorrect. We found artifacts! It looks like some sort of electronic. It has what appears to be a logo of a partially eaten piece of fruit. Interesting! I’m scared to touch it because it’ll probably shatter because it’s so fucking cold!

Journal Entry date: August 19, 2863
Location: Ellesmere Island, Canada

Now today was beyond amazing. We found a person. Not a real person, at least not a real living person. A dead person. Frozen (because I think it’s just a few degrees warmer than absolute zero), but definitely a person. Completely frozen. Encapsulated in the ice! This is going to make for a great research paper. An actual frozen human artifact of… well… of a human! Poor dude. This is one cold person.


(c) All images and photographs, unless otherwise specified, are created and owned by me.
(c) Victor Wiebe


(design by remyrequinart: https://steempeak.com/@remyrequenart)

Sort:  

Congratulations @wwwiebe! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 2000 replies. Your next target is to reach 2250 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Poor guy all frozen like that and being stared at LOLL

GREAT freewrite!! so happy to see you having fun doing them :D

Thank you! I really do like to write. One of my goals in high school was to be a professional writer. I'm glad to get back into it. And I'm glad you've enjoyed it! :)

I really am.

sorry for not being around the last few days. I had to get ready to go visit my Mom in Florida and a few other things. Hoping to be back soon to read more :D

Hope everything is okay!

Love this story, @wwwiebe - keep going :)

@tipu curate

I know!! what were people thinking when they settled Canada. Love the artifact with the partly eaten fruit. I think the explorers will find a ton of those LOL

I know exactly what those people were thinking! It was those original settlers that coined the acronym 'wtf'. ;)

🤣🤣😂😂🤣🤣

Yeah, it's definitely a structure I like. You have the proper type of narrative for it.

Well done, a beginning is a beginning.

Suggested upgrade:

Which of the in-the-first-place instances was in the first place?

You could add coordinates to the Location part. But that requires time and research, not exactly a thing for a 5-min freewrite.

Peace!

Thank you! And thanks for the suggestions; I can definitely work on further clarity. Thanks for stopping by!

Adventure into the future, nice free write exploring what one might find @wwwiebe pretty cool!

Thank you!

It would be cold up there that close to the North Pole. Maybe it’s Santa Claus! 😊

Ahahaha! He must be a Canadian!

Poor guy all frozen what a way to go. :( Probably one of Apple's competitors, buried in the ice, guess time will tell. :D

Maybe that particular device will still happen to work! Dunno yet. :)

I love it. Will it be continued? Now you know what cold is I guess. Happy the heather is on. 💕

I hadn't considered a continued story until recently. I'll need to give it some thought!

It doesn't matter I assume one day the expedition will end, the cold person does not come alive and the wife is missed or left. 🤔👍💕

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63237.60
ETH 2647.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81