The Rusted Nail

in #freewrite6 years ago

black-and-white-wood-white-photography-black-monochrome-22149-pxhere.com.jpg

The night before a gust of wind knocked over the fence. One of the perils of living on the dry line. The sudden downdraft did enough damage even though no tornadoes twisted around. Parts of wooden posts lay over the vacant lot as if a child tossed his matchsticks. All that remained was the center posts.

I took a hammer and started pulling out the rusted nails. Some slipped out easily, while others lost their heads. I left these for later. Thirty-minutes later, I pulled out most of the nails.

The few without heads required a bit more work as they no longer offered leverage. For these, I used a pair of pliers to yank the nails from the post. I rolled around the post looking for errant nails. Then I managed to find one as it tore through my shirt and the flesh in my arm.

Blood everywhere. I wiped it up and went back to work.

A few hours later the cut began to hurt. I cleaned it with iodine and was badging it, when Darla asked what happened? I told her. Then I went to the quick care for a Tetanus shot.

Fun day.

Photo by PxHere

Copyright © 2018 Michael Shawn Sommermeyer

alt

Day 187: 5 Minute Freewrite: Tuesday - Prompt: nail by @mariannewest




DQmY73bhwxZbFPVvGvGshKPCtEzK7fseuHjaxCDEW4fB6Pe.png

DQmZh1AG34S6gD7B5mZVWjWXk4zWPhCVxWjyxwHsMobV457_1680x8400.jpg

DQmNihVfTnrubWwTvMtgypUFH3YH4yvj8XeiMKyU2m5GAyb_1680x8400.png

Sort:  

Ouch :( I'd probably find the shot worse though to be honest - hate needles!

A very painful post hehe, I invite you to read mine, thank God you took your forecasts ....

I use to hate going for tenus shots. to me the worst part was when they would ask when you recived your last one and I was always thinking.......LOOK IN MY FILE?

How would I remember when I got my last one........ can you tell I never wore shoes going up :D I was always being asked and given those shots lolll

Oh and GREAT story because as you can see it brought up a ton of memories :D

I had my doctor ask me the other day about my T. shot and I had no clue. She let it go, but there will be a next time. ;-)

I think I’d take the chance rather than the shot.
It’s myself again here with your sterile prompt for today: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-188-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt

Also, don't forget to read the latest posts from our new page
FREEWRITE HOUSE!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54391.40
ETH 2283.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29