Snake River Heron Nests

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

West of Hagerman, Idaho, near where hundreds of waterfalls pour into the river, a series of three or four islands provide a protected and secluded hatchery for Great Blue Herons and Grebes. On s spring morning, I joined three other photographers on a safari of these islands by boating out to the islands.

The red-eyed grebes nested in floating reeds as this stretch of the river ran smooth as glass. Floating through the water we came within 20-feet of the birds and I felt uncomfortable disturbing their peace. The whole experience felt beyond real. However, the real experience was to come.

On the first island, nesting herons flew above us constructing their nests. It felt like we landed on a prehistoric enclave of dinosaurs flying above our heads. The birds drifted in carrying large sticks to create massive nests in the tops and between the trees.

On the ground, the dense vegetation hid nesting juveniles on the ground. So many birds, you could come face-to-face with one by turning around. I stood three-feet from a juvenile blending into the background. I almost accidentally touched it trying to regain my footing on the slick rocks. It was an experience beyond words.

I don't have those photos readily available on the short notice @mariannewest gave us for this prompt. The photos are on my 35mm slides locked away somewhere in my home office. When I get a chance, I will digitize the juvenile standing still against the tree.

Oh, and I realize, I didn't exactly "describe a bird" other than to say they were grey and scary with bulging eyes.

 
 

Day 167: 5 Minute Freewrite: Thursday - Prompt: describe a bird by @mariannewest

Sort:  

Lol, that's why they call it a prompt ;) Couldn't find any bird pics in my collections either...or at least that were readily available :) Gotta love nature though...so peaceful...until we come and screw it up, hehe.

Good point. This was years before the idea of "leaving no trace," yet I felt like an intruder. Now, I've got to find those pics because they were crazy good.

but you described what you felt like seeing a bird!! Or rather - many birds. Can't wait to see the pictures!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 57110.78
ETH 2521.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32