You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Not In My Neighborhood Little Piggy

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

When Las Vegas was a small city, this pig farm was miles away from anything. You could buy five acres at $100 down, $100 a month, and still nobody wanted it. Then the boom came and everyone wanted a house. They just started building anywhere they could find the land. When these houses were built, I thought why would anyone want a house next to a pig farm? I think the farmer did what he could to cut down on the smell, but it was a large farm with a lot of pigs. Finally, somebody made him an offer and he took it. I'm told they plan to build a new operation on industrial property. However, in 30 years, I'm sure he'll have to move again.

Actually, this reminds me of a Tom T. Hall song:

Four hundred hogs, they just standin' out there
My wife can't feed 'em and my neighbors don't care
They can't get out and roam around like my old huntin' dogs
Here I am in this dang bed and who's gonna feed them hogs?

Sort:  

Cities are getting bigger fast...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62539.28
ETH 2437.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67