Postmeridian Cynosure Reflected in Morning Light

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

landscapenaturemountaincloudskysunrise480337pxhere.com.jpg
PxHere

Pink clouds reflect morning sunrise
Above the mountain purple skies
Reaching to touch the morning star
A black ribbon afar
Space touches the planet breath
Then exhaling the night's death

We stir and sigh, the dreaming over
Yet not wanting to rise, we turnover

The morning light proclaims red skies take warning
With a hint of moisture and storming
Still the afternoon sun burns away the clouds
To leave behind sticky shrouds
Of summer's blanketing heat
The angry sun replete

We whir and sigh, the workday over
Longing to chase our postmeridian cynosure

Waiting for buses and subways
To take us to down highways
While thunder claps and storms gather
Wringing moisture into a lather
Flinging down hail and rain
We feel electricity in a vein

We dance and cry, the thunderstorm over
Shaking off raindrops, no need to take cover.

Copyright © 2018 Michael Shawn Sommermeyer

Day 306 : 5 Minute Freewrite: Tuesday - Prompt: light by @mariannewest

Border
I'm adding writing tips and new pulp fiction on my Patreon page, where I'm creating a community. I have a lot of writing stuff on my website and I'm building a resource on my Discord channel. Join me!

Steemit Amazon RSS

Wordsmith Holler
Click on the image to become a Patron!

DQmY73bhwxZbFPVvGvGshKPCtEzK7fseuHjaxCDEW4fB6Pe.png
Click on the image to join the fun!

DQmZh1AG34S6gD7B5mZVWjWXk4zWPhCVxWjyxwHsMobV457_1680x8400.jpg
Border

Sort:  

Your description of the cloud is so perfect ,
This is my first time of seeing the word :"whir"

The sensation of twirling in the wind. ;-)

Beautiful poem @wordymouth and I learned 2 new words. We had one heck of a storm last night which flooded my bathroom but no hail thank goodness.

Resident cat here, delivering today's new prompt and wishing you a good day! https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-307-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-bulb

Win a Membership in Steem Basic Income - Tell us About a Favorite Freewrite

Thank you for the read and the prompt. I had never used cynosure, but it helped me make a point in one word.

It was the perfect word to use and you used it in a perfect place. : )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55326.60
ETH 2348.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32