A Turned Up Eyebrow

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

U5dsiZUL3yjUqK2YW7GYBd41otLRPzb_1680x8400.png
Day 223: 5 Minute Freewrite: Wednesday - Prompt: eyebrow(s)

When she caught you lying or telling a tall one, her left eyebrow would raise letting you know she was on to you. Of course, we all tried to outsmart her. We also tried to raise an eyebrow like her. None of us could do it. She told us it was genetic. Then again, we all knew enough about biology to know one of us should have been able to raise an eyebrow like her.

So it had to be magic or maybe she had will her eyebrow to doraise. My sister decided to tape up an eyebrow to see if she could will her eyebrow to raise. Maybe the trick was in starting at the top and working back down? She looked ridiculous, which only prompted mother to raise her eyebrow. We all giggled and then made fun of our sister.

One day, I managed to do it by accident. I could never do it again. By this time, mother had been dead six years. I tried real hard to raise my eyebrow again. Then a memory of her standing there looking at me with a turned up eyebrow made me cry. And then I laughed.

Copyright © 2018 Michael Shawn Sommermeyer

Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com

DQmY73bhwxZbFPVvGvGshKPCtEzK7fseuHjaxCDEW4fB6Pe.png
Click on the image to join the fun!

DQmZh1AG34S6gD7B5mZVWjWXk4zWPhCVxWjyxwHsMobV457_1680x8400.jpg

DQmNihVfTnrubWwTvMtgypUFH3YH4yvj8XeiMKyU2m5GAyb_1680x8400.png

Sort:  

Well, I don't need to leave you a prompt. Isn't it funny how that goes - a gesture can produce a memory.

@mariannewest My mother did that a lot. I can't do it. My daughter can though!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60410.66
ETH 2598.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62