Day-725-Freewrite Tuesday Pecan

in #freewrite5 years ago

MomentCam_2019101523161706200007300140.gif
Freewrite.png
Below is my five minute #freewrite on today's prompt: pecan

If you've never written a Freewrite before, please visit today's post by @mariannewest

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-725-5-minute-freewrite-tuesday-prompt-pecan
Freewrite.png
When I was growing up my dad was always piddling around the backyard. Most of the time he was sneaking a smoke, so mamma wouldn't catch him or pruning the pear tree. Dad loved his pear tree and he was very successful with tasty harvests yearly. Dad was always trying to grow a pecan tree, without success. I would see a limb wrapped in plastic and twine and ask him what he was doing. "It's called grafting", he would say. I asked him why he didn't just go buy a pecan tree and put it in the ground. He said they took too long to grow. He never could get that grafting thing to work, he tried it with persimmons too. Dad was a quiet little guy and when I started working at the post office with him, people couldn't believe we were related. I was blessed to be able to work with my dad for almost 8 years, before he retired. I miss my mom and dad, and think about them daily. 💕🙏
FB_IMG_1529244494153.jpg

Freewrite and photos by Bruni
Power_House_Creatives_Logos_FINAL.png
Today was the end of this Splinterlands season and I was awarded 40 cards. I picked up some cards to level up, but my favorite is the Ruler of the Sea legendary card.
Screenshot_2019-10-15-15-41-37~2.png
Screenshot_2019-10-15-15-43-13~2.png
Power_House_Creatives_Logos_FINAL.png
Badge-100club-teal.png
U5dsLKV33HXTDu76NWm82XTqf9vk7ZG.gif

U5drpP6qjs4GazpyKU1saYeHLPtKDGV_1680x8400.png
Click my referral link for free Manna

DQmQJqzrUJjdziuTV2vq7pycn7nrHZ8MRo8wnKCZNX4RMUj_1680x8400.png

official storyteller.jpg

inCollage_20180724_094040774.jpg

My referral link for Crowdini


https://steemmonsters.com?ref=wonderwop

PHC-Footer-05.gif

Sort:  

This post was curated by @theluvbug
and has received an upvote and a resteem to hopefully generate some ❤ extra love ❤ for your post!
JOIN ME ON TWITTER

myluvbug.gif

In Proud Collaboration with The Power House Creatives
and their founder @jaynie

JOIN US HERE

That's a really nice story Uncle. I can see why people couldn't believe you are related.

Congratulations @wonderwop! This post was selected by the Power House Creatives as today's Rally Upvote Post :)

You can find the community announcement on Discord :) and it has also been shared on our FB Page and Twitter feed.

PHC-Footer-05.gif

LOL, I left the comment for your post on the rally-upvote post! So congrats on the rally-upvote!

0888A20B-945C-4C2E-B9AB-7F781592774A.jpeg

I only have an apple tree in the garden

What a great photo of you and your Dad. Bitter-sweet memories.

Nice picture and memories. I don't think I have a single photograph with my father, just the two of us. Those 8 years you worked together must have been priceless.

Great memories of your Dad. I don’t think we are ever the same after our parents pass.

What a sweet picture @wonderwop. I'm sure you do miss him, I bet he was an amazing dad. Grafting trees is truly an art, trial and error for sure. I would have loved one of those pears for my applesauce this week :)

That's a beautiful photo of your dad and yourself.
The bond between father and son is precious.
We really must treasure it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58679.35
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44