Day-462-Freewrite Friday Local Derby

in #freewrite5 years ago

inCollage_20190125_211556892.jpg

Below is my 5 minute #freewrite on today's prompt: local derby

If you've never created a #freewrite before, please visit today's post by @mariannewest

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-462-5-minute-freewrite-friday-prompt-local-derby

I was having a hard time with today's prompt, as nothing was coming to mind, but while I was watching "Botched" on "E", one of the patients was from San Antonio and they showed a city promo. I paused the TV show and took a photo of the screen.

When I saw the highway sign "Retama Park EXIT 173" my #freewite hit me.

The closest thing to a local derby in San Antonio, is the day of the Kentucky Derby. Retama Park is the horse racing track just on the outskirts of SA and they usually have live horse racing when the Triple Crown races run.

On those days the place is packed with fortune hunters trying to hit a trifecta, that might pay big bucks. I was really excited when the race track was built but after losing everytime I went, I kinda lost interest in going. 💸

They have simulcast racing daily, but the live racing is more exciting. I'd rather play poker. 🃏♦️♣️♥️♠️

Story and photo by Bruni

Badge-100club-teal.png
U5dsLKV33HXTDu76NWm82XTqf9vk7ZG.gif

U5drpP6qjs4GazpyKU1saYeHLPtKDGV_1680x8400.png
Click my referral link for free Manna

DQmQJqzrUJjdziuTV2vq7pycn7nrHZ8MRo8wnKCZNX4RMUj_1680x8400.png

official storyteller.jpg

inCollage_20180724_094040774.jpg

My referral link for Crowdini


https://steemmonsters.com?ref=wonderwop

Sort:  

@wonderwop You have only 2x resteem+upvote left. Please re-subscribe sending 0.4 and pizza in memo to get 30 more resteems + 30x $~0.02 upvotes - or in alternative register here and start mining JSEcoin on their website! It's free and super simple!

If you want infinite daily resteem + daily $~0.02 upvote you can simply delegate 20 SP with this link.
Reply OFF to turn off these expiration notifications

I haven’t been to the races in a loooooong time.

Looking forward to July!

I need to go back this year. 👍

Awwn...Sorry about the loses..

I would love to watch a live race one day. I don't think we have horse races in Nigeria, In fact I am sure we do not.😀

They are exciting "live" but not so much on TV.

Seriously, inspiration can come from anywhere, from anything and am glad you found yourself from the TV screen. 😂 😂 😂.

Am here to deliver the weekend freewrite prompt to your doorstep 🚪.
...
You want to go single with this.
👇 👇 👇
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/weekend-freewrite-1-26-2019-single-prompt-option
...
And if you're thinking of going pro.
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/weekend-freewrite-1-26-2019-part-1-the-first-sentence
...
Do have a nice weekend.
...

Thank you for the prompt delivery

Posted using Partiko Android

This post has received a 3.13 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @sbi-booster.

This post has received a 16.52 % upvote from @boomerang.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60238.27
ETH 3215.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46