Day-232-5-minute-freewrite-friday-prompt-depression

in #freewrite6 years ago

IMG_20180608_113542.jpg

This is my 5 minute #freewrite for today's prompt: depression

If you've never heard of a #freewrite please check out today's post by @mariannewest

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-232-5-minute-freewrite-friday-prompt-depression

When I was a little boy, my daddy had a favorite shot glass that he would use, when he was drinking José Cuervo Tequila.

It was a bottoms-up shot glass made out of depression glass. I always thought it was so cool, because he couldn't put it down, until he drank the shot.

One day, I was getting a glass for water from the cupboard, and the glass slipped out of my hand and fell on his favorite shot glass, and it shattered to pieces. I felt so bad that daddy lost his favorite shot glass.

When I got older, I would always look for a replacement bottoms-up shot glass, even after he passed in 1992.

One day I was searching eBay for something and thought I would check for the shot glass. I found the one in my selfie, it's a reproduction, not depression glass, but it still reminds me of daddy when I see it in my liquor cabinet.

For your information, daddy didn't stop drinking José Cuervo Tequila, after I broke his favorite shot glass.

Story and selfie by Bruni

z2u3jv2innyratziv1mo.jpgthanks @fireawaymarmot
U5dsLKV33HXTDu76NWm82XTqf9vk7ZG.gif

U5drpP6qjs4GazpyKU1saYeHLPtKDGV_1680x8400.png
Click my referral link for free Manna

DQmQJqzrUJjdziuTV2vq7pycn7nrHZ8MRo8wnKCZNX4RMUj_1680x8400.png

Sort:  

never heard of an upside-down shot glass before! The things we learn!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70638.80
ETH 3565.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73