Day-210-5-minute-freewrite-thursday-prompt-tree

in #freewrite6 years ago

IMG_20180517_111705.jpg

When I was growing up, my dad had this pear tree in the backyard, that he would prune and work on year round. I don't know what he was doing to it, but it had the juiciest pears ever. My mamma told him that she would like a persimmon tree because that was her favorite. Every growing season I would go with my dad to pick up a persimmon tree, to see if we could get it to grow. For five years straight we would pick a different variety, and not a single one made it three months. He would try different soils, growing hormones, watering schedules, and he even tried grafting a limb. Persimmons were expensive in the grocery store, so mamma seldom bought them. Daddy never did get a tree started before he died, and the pear tree was hit by lightning, and died too. So to make my mamma happy, I turned to Craigslist. About a month before Thanksgiving, I would advertise that I was looking to buy persimmons for my mamma. The first year I found someone who would let me buy them for a quarter a piece. I bought forty of them for her. She was so happy. Every year after I would turn to Craigslist to supply my mamma's persimmon addiction.
Keep them happy, whatever it takes!

Story and selfie by Bruni

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-210-5-minute-freewrite-thursday-prompt-tree

DQmQJqzrUJjdziuTV2vq7pycn7nrHZ8MRo8wnKCZNX4RMUj_1680x8400.png

z2u3jv2innyratziv1mo.jpg@fireawaymarmot artist
U5dsLKV33HXTDu76NWm82XTqf9vk7ZG.gif

U5drpP6qjs4GazpyKU1saYeHLPtKDGV_1680x8400.png
Click my referral link for free Manna

Sort:  

That's good son material right there :) I grew up with two pear trees in my back garden - loved getting free fruit every summer. If you forget to pick them though, what a mess! I'd never even heard of persimmons before but did a quick google search and they look delicious. What do they taste like?

They are very sweet and they have a taste all their own. But you have to make sure they are ripe before you eat them, or they're very bitter.

I'll be on the look out for them, for sure!

what a great true story. What a perfect son!! :D

Thank you @snook I don't know if I was the perfect son, but I was the baby and there was a lotta love there.

You have a sunny mood and it's cool!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64961.60
ETH 3103.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86