day-190-5-minute-freewrite-sunday-prompt-bamboo

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

bamboo.jpg

A funny thing happened to me on the way home from Debbie's, one night in August 2011. I had a pain in my side all day at work and then went to a charity party for Rey Feo after work. We were at the party and the pain was getting worse, so Debbie said we should go to a med clinic near her home. I told her I would be ok, as I am a stupid male, and dropped her off at home. On my way home I went to the emergency room and was admitted for appendicitis, and wheeled into surgery. I texted Debbie to let her know, we had been dating for a month, so it was the least I could do. My mamma was 90, so I wasn't going to let her know at 2:00 a.m. that I was going to have surgery. I made it through surgery and I called her in the morning. I received this lucky bamboo plant the next day, from my coworkers. Seven days later, I found out that my appendix was cancerous. A month later I had surgery to remove some of my intestines just to make sure all of it was gone. I didn't have to do chemo or radiation. I'm 7 years cancer free in October, thanks to my lucky bamboo.
Or because I'm a stupid male.

Story and photo by Bruni

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-190-5-minute-freewrite-sunday-prompt-bamboo

z2u3jv2innyratziv1mo.jpg@fireawaymarmot artist
U5dsLKV33HXTDu76NWm82XTqf9vk7ZG.gif

U5drpP6qjs4GazpyKU1saYeHLPtKDGV_1680x8400.png
Click my referral link for free Manna

Sort:  

I will upvote and resteem your last blog post to my 36,000+ followers for free if you reply to this comment. Follow @a-0-0

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59988.10
ETH 2415.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45