day-182-5-minute-freewrite-thursday-prompt-red-wine

in #freewrite6 years ago

IMG_20180419_221320.jpg

The last time I went to see my uncle's in Empoli was 2014. Giampiero and Umberto were my mamma's baby brothers. Gina and Isa, their wives. Each had one child, Alberto and Anna.

My mamma passed away in 2013 at 92, and there was a whole lot of crying going on, when we saw them. We would eat at one uncles for lunch, and the other for dinner. Then the next day, they would switch. At every meal was this red wine, a Chianti, from the region of Tuscany.

My family would have a glass of Piccini and always add water. I wasn't sure if they did that to make it last longer, or if they were all cheap drunks.

IMG_20180419_221338.jpg

The last day we were there, I took a bottle of Umbertos wine, and put it in my checked luggage. It made it back home to San Antonio, in one piece, and I still have it. My uncle passed away on my mamma's birthday last year, so now everytime I walk past that bottle of Piccini, I think of him.

Story and photos by Bruni

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-182-5-minute-freewrite-thursday-prompt-red-wine

z2u3jv2innyratziv1mo.jpg beautiful badge by @fireawaymarmot
U5dsLKV33HXTDu76NWm82XTqf9vk7ZG.gif

U5drpP6qjs4GazpyKU1saYeHLPtKDGV_1680x8400.png
Click my referral link for free Manna

Sort:  

Upvoted and resteemed by # BlogBooster and the curation trail.
Have a great day!

I also have objects that belonged to deceased relatives sitting around my house and when I pass by the objects I say Hi to them. Tell your Uncle Umberto hello for me. : )

I will @whatisnew thanks for stopping by. 😸

Thanks for sharing your memory with us Bruni. Having something to remember a deceased loved one by can be a real comfort.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67138.06
ETH 3678.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73