Cancer sucks

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

IMG-bcea2a78ca06f0cb3b0f75556de98546-V.jpg

Below is my 5 minute #freewrite for today's prompt: cancer

If you've never created a #freewrite before, please check out today's post by @mariannewest

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-277-5-minute-freewrite-monday-prompt-cancer

This weekend we lost my Mamma's baby brother, my only living uncle, who lived in Empoli, Italia at the age of 91. He died from prostate cancer. Today he was buried near his brother, who we lost last year, and I'm sure Mamma and her two brothers have been reunited in heaven.

Tomorrow my brother starts chemo and radiation therapy for a lesion that was removed from his tongue about 45 days ago. I can tell that the treatments are weighing heavy on his mind, as it is for all of us. Six weeks of daily radiation, Monday through Friday, for 10 minutes a day, and six weeks of chemo, one day a week for six hours. I'll be taking him everyday and supporting him when it gets really rough around week four.

I've been cancer free for almost seven years now and I'm glad that I took care of my appendix cancer with surgery, and I didn't need chemo or radiation. These two treatments sound like they are very taxing on the body and I'm not sure I could have handled them.

Please pray for us! Cancer Sucks!

Story and photo by Bruni

z2u3jv2innyratziv1mo.jpgThanks @fireawaymarmot
U5dsLKV33HXTDu76NWm82XTqf9vk7ZG.gif

U5drpP6qjs4GazpyKU1saYeHLPtKDGV_1680x8400.png
Click my referral link for free Manna

DQmQJqzrUJjdziuTV2vq7pycn7nrHZ8MRo8wnKCZNX4RMUj_1680x8400.png

official storyteller.jpg

inCollage_20180723_094244191.jpg

My referral link for Crowdini

Sort:  

Prayers for your family and you as you support them. It's a hard course of treatment. I'm glad you're cancer free, too.

It does suck and it's just not fair. My condolences and well wishes for the c-fighters among you, you included.

Thank you @eyedreemit I really appreciate the thoughts. 🙏

Resteemed to my 7,000 followers! Thanks for the nomination in the annual pun contest, by the way!! tip!

Thank you @paul.atreides and you're welcome, that was a fun pun.

I'll pass this on to my brother, almost finished with his first chemo treatment today. 🙏

I wish the best for your family and you with all my heart!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63060.85
ETH 3455.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51