You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: "We represent...." Day 739: 5 Minute Freewrite: Prompt: represent

in #freewrite5 years ago

Another great write from the master! I feel sorry for people who don't believe in God or at least some higher power. But, to each his own.

Resident cat here, representing the Freewrite House as I deliver today's new prompt:

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-740-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-cold-person

Sort:  

Thank you!
It pains me to hear "Atheism is the coward's way out," because fear is not what motivates unbelief; lack of convincing reasons or "evidence" is--and it is NOT the easy way out to see no reason to believe in a loving God and an afterlife and reuniting with loved ones in heaven. It's crushing. I continue to hold out hope, and have never declared "There is no god," just that whatever God there is, others seem to know and sense the presence of a God I do not sense or "know" or feel "certain" of. There's the Deist god of Thomas Jefferson and the framers of our Constitution, but the watchmaker who designed and built it then let it tick without further maintenance or intervention... that's not much better than atheism.

I continue to pray as if there's a listening God. But I don't buy the logic that morals and ethics cannot exist outside of belief in God. I've met so many atheists who are kind, compassionate, generous, and humane. What motivates them to do good? It's the right thing to do. Harming others, cheating, stealing, killing, shunning, is the wrong thing to do. It's that simple.
Sorry!
I have great affection for the community of saints - St. Catherine of Sienna, John of the Cross, even the witch-burning St. Augustine, and Blessed Angelina of de Foligni (God said to her: Make yourself a capacity, and I will make myself a torrent.) I have learned that I must not harbor any expectation or hope of experiencing God the way they did. Or the way millions of others say they have. I await, consoled that even Mother Teresa (now Saint Teresa of Calcutta) experienced doubt that God exists at all.
Sorry. Someone cut me off now...

Even your comments are priceless! Hugs!

{{ hugs }} to you too, and thanks!!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 57339.41
ETH 2522.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31