My Expensive Petunias

in #freewrite5 years ago

Weekend Freewrite Challenge initiated by @mariannewest. 11/23/2019- Single Prompt Option: futility

.

My Expensive Petunias

All of my flowers have been planted by seed until this past spring. Every year I plant something new in my miniature garden located close to my back porch, for the butterflies. I was excited to try dwarf lupines this year. I was in a hurry because we had a late spring so I decided to buy the roots instead of seeds. I couldn't find them being sold in my area so I ordered them by mail. Haste makes waste.

When they arrived, I excitedly planted them right away. It took much longer than I thought it would just for the leaves to begin growing on 2 of the 6 plants. To make a long story short, 4 ended up dying. Actually they were dead on arrival because they never produced anything. I only had one stalk of flowers that lasted all of 5 minutes because a big gust of wind blew all of the flowers off.

My bubble was burst and I especially felt bad that I didn't have any flowers for the butterflies that visit this area every year. However, all did not end in futility for a couple of skipper butterflies.

Thanks to the birds, I had a nice group of petunias to replace the lupines which I referred to as "My $20 petunias".

Thanks for stopping by and have a great weekend!

All photos are my own.

Are you looking for another caring community where your creativity and imagination can run wild? A place where you have the opportunity to win prizes for your participation? Are you looking for support or for a place that you would like to support? Then head on over to the Freewrite House and have some fun.

Freewritehouse-footer-400px.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58919.17
ETH 2647.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43