"Family Outing"- Weekend Freewrite-9-7-2019: Single Prompt Option

in #freewrite5 years ago

Weekend Freewrite-9-7-2019 initiated by @mariannewest-Single prompt option. I am using 2 prompts which are uncertain future and personal responsibility

Family Outing

It was a warm, summer morning with gray skies and it looked like it was going to rain, but that didn't stop the family outing on the water. The young had an uncertain future and the parents had a personal responsibility to teach their young how to survive. With mom leading the way, the seven siblings followed with Gander in toe to protect his family.

One important lesson they needed to be taught was how to forage for food in the water. Mom taught her young how to dabble.

"Gather around. Beaks and heads under the water. Butts up in the air with tails straight up to keep you balanced. Extended your necks and nibble on insects and plant pieces only. Spit out everything else."

One of the goslings disappeared, leaving behind a pool of bubbles. The siblings got all goosey and called their parents for help. The gosling popped out of the water when mom arrived. "Nothing to worry about. He knows how to dive deeper than the rest of you."

"Show-off!"

#freewrite by @mariannewest

#featheredfriday by @melinda010100

#dailypetphotography by @dpet and @kona

All photos are my own.

Are you looking for another caring community where your creativity and imagination can run wild? A place where you have the opportunity to win prizes for your participation? Are you looking for support or for a place that you would like to support? Then head on over to the Freewrite House and have some fun.

Freewritehouse-footer-400px.png

Sort:  

Now there's a definition of the word dabble that I wasn't aware of.
I used to have a house overlooking the canal and could watch the ducklings learning how to dabble. They'd start off as 7 little ducklings but day by day their numbers would shrink until sometimes, there was no little ducklings left at all:(

What a shock! I am always learning from you and now I taught you something?!?! Love it! I would love to live near a canal to be able to watch the ducklings but I would hate to see them disappear. Poor things. : (

I often swim with my butt up in the air. Way cuter when I was being taught by my mother so long ago. Joking aside, this is lovely.

HaHa! Me too! Thanks for your kind words and for stopping by @medusaeffect! : )

What a great series of photos and a great little story to go along with them! Great capture of the deep dive disappearance!

Thanks Melinda. Glad you like it. I was very happy to get that deep dive disappearance. I kept pushing the camera button until he came up for air hoping that I got it. : )

Aren't they cute :-=)

They are cute, aren't they. I could watch them all day.

This was beautiful, and welcome back!

Thanks so much @deeanndmathews! It feels good to be back. : )

What sweet pictures!! And not only geese (or are this ducks?) have the responibilty....

The young had an uncertain future and the parents had a personal responsibility to teach their young how to survive.

Thanks Marianne! : ) You are right, they are geese. Thanks for stopping by!

Hi @whatisnew,

Thanks so much for partaking in #dailypetphotography! Please follow @dpet for upcoming events.
Our discord channel is up and running, come on over and say hi, lots of avil pet owners are awaiting you there.
https://discord.gg/GYrnsNm

haha! Wonderful photos Butterfly! Do any ducks stay around in the winter?

Thanks @janton! I do not go to the park during the winter but I did read somewhere that the park geese and ducks usually do not migrate. Me...I hibernate. LOL!

I would too if I was in such long, cold winters! That's called survival!

I would too if I
Was in such long, cold winters!
That's called survival!

                 - janton


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 68029.30
ETH 3272.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64