Day 669: 5 Minute Freewrite: Tuesday-Prompt: knife

in #freewrite5 years ago

Day 669: 5 Minute Freewrite Challenge initiated by @mariannewest. Tuesday-Prompt: knife

Dog Days of Summer

Walking outside from the comfort of my air conditioned home into a sultry, stagnant mass was like walking into a brick wall. The humidity was so thick you could cut it with a knife.

I looked up to the sky and asked, "Are you serious, Sirius? Already?" The dog days of summer had arrived early this year.

As I drove my car down the road the song, Summertime In the City popped into my head and I began to sing.

"Hot town, summer in the city,
Back of my neck getting dirty and gritty."

Then a commercial for Irish Spring soap popped into my head and I began to say it with a fake Irish accent.

"Are you icky, are you sticky? Hot and muggy too?"

Back to the song, singing "But at night it is a different world."

Hey! I know what I am going to do tonight. I will look for the first dog-day cicadas of the year, and then they can sing to me all day and night.

When I found two sharing the same wooden dowel in my garden I thought, Just like Doublemint Gum, this is double my pleasure, double my fun.

And then I began to sing the song Celebration by Kool And the Gang.

Will you look at that! The dog-day cicadas burst out of their dirty shells all wet, and dried off all "fresh and clean," just as if they used Irish Spring.

I wonder if my freewrite partner @deirdyweirdy who lives in Ireland, uses Irish Spring soap?

All photos are my own.

Are you looking for a caring community where your creativity and imagination can run wild? A place where you have the opportunity to win prizes for your participation? Are you looking for support or for a place that you would like to support? Then head on over to the Freewrite House and have some fun.

Freewritehouse-footer-400px.png

Sort:  

Hello @whatisnew, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Yay! What a wonderful surprise and an honor! Thanks so much for your support! It is greatly appreciated. Thanks again! : )

Wow you found one emerging, swarms of them are out here as well.

Posted using Partiko Android

I usually don't find them until they are halfway out of their shell. But this time I was excited to see them crawling inside their shell and to be able to watch them come out of their shell. So cool! Have fun with them! LOL!

Ugh, what great photos!

You don't see Irish Spring here anymore. I remember when it arrived in the 70s we used to buy it. We loved the scent and the green and white stripes, but if I recall correctly it was a German product with nothing Irish about it other than the name.
These days I make all my own soap and body washes from Castille soap and essential oils.

By the way, I'd love to hear your fake Irish accent 😂😂.😂.😂.

Thanks partner! : )

It was ll the rage here for a while. Yes, it was surprising to hear that it was a German product. They sure fooled a lot of people.
My daughter makes all of her soap and cleaning products with essential oils too.
I have been told that my fake Irish accent is good but hopefully I will be able to let you be the judge of that one day. LOL!

Hahaha, something to look forward to;)
Fair play to your daughter. It's no bad thing to reduce the use of chemicals around the house, especially for the kids.

That is my daughter's reason for using them. I only use chemicals for the toilet and sinks, and the smell from them kills me. My allergist told me that I have Hyper-sensitivity disorder. Never heard of such a thing. He said, "It just means that you are allergic to life." Thanks a lot doc!

I'm on the bottom today my sweet. I can't believe it's a week ago we did the last session. Has time speeded up?

My cicadas are, um, pretty.
Love the smell of Irish Spring. But I'm sure @deirdyweirdy just calls it Spring.

HaHa! Ugh! is the response I get from her every time she sees my insect photos.
She probably does call that soap Spring! You are a trip Omra! LOL!

I have a love-hate relationship with your crawly photos sweetie. I try to desist from looking at them but find myself strangely compelled......then horrified ....then vowing never to look at another one:)

I've learned never to eat while looking at her posts. 😂

😂😂.😂.😂. She calls it chemical infused rubbish actually, but oh that scent!

I like the Irish soap commercial.. Fits great to the photos. 👍💕😁

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks so much and thanks for stopping by. : )

I thank you for the good read. Happy day 💕

Posted using Partiko Android

Howdy Butterfly! I still use Irish Spring. I thought is still WAS all the rage! lol. We keep it in the vehicles too, mice don't like the smell much.
This is a great freewrite! Do you know the words to all those songs?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66274.97
ETH 3175.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.06