Day 64: 5 Minute Freewrite- Prompt: pill

in #freewrite7 years ago

Day 64: 5 Minute Freewrite Challenge initiated by @mariannewest. Prompt: pill

It was the morning of Christmas Eve and Bubba was on his way to his grandma's house. Through the woods he walked and stopped at the river to get a bucket of fresh water for his grandma. Before placing the lid on top he thought he saw a fish in his bucket of water, but it was just a reflection from one of the pine trees. Bubba had a panic attack as he recalled the time he ate fish, and got a fish bone lodged in his throat for 3 days. Ever since that incident he wasn't able to swallow a pill. The only way he could get a pill down him was by crushing it up and letting it dissolve in his mouth before he could swallow it down. He tried putting a crushed pill in pudding once but that made him gag. He began to panic more when he thought of grandma's figgy pudding that she made every year for Christmas. He didn't want to hurt her feelings, so he was going to have to force that pudding down his throat somehow. He panicked even more when he thought of how he was going to swallow her home-made candy that he choked on the year before.

It was getting late and grandma was worried when Bubba didn't show up, so she went to look for him. You will never believe in a million years what happened.

Singing..."GRANDMA GOT RUN OVER BY A REINDEER!"

MERRY CHRISTMAS TO @mariannewest AND TO ALL OF THE FREEWRITERS!

Image Source: timacademiadangles.blogspot.com

Sort:  

Hahah poor Bubba! I just can't figure how this scene came to your mind @whatisnew, the character reminds me of that cartoon "Courage the Cowardly Dog"..now running to see @deaconlee one, I've been away for a bit and it seems there's a lot to catch up

I have never heard of "Courage the Cowardly Dog." There are 2 popular songs played on the radio before Christmas and they were stuck in my head. One starts "Over the river and through the woods to Granmother's house we go." The other one is "Grandma got run over by a reindeer" and it is so funny. When you get a chance look it up and read the lyrics or try to listen to it on the internet. I am the one who can't swallow pills and had panic attacks before trying to swallow them. Now I just chew them and swallow. Yuck! And I am the one who choked on my Grandma's home made candy during Christmas one year when I was 7 years old. @deaconlee did a fantastic job with his and I finished it with Part 3.

We all draw from the well of out memories and under world .. in a way a freewrite may also have some therapeutic value as it helps to push out our fears and negative experience, sublimating them in a cathartic and creative way.

I never thought of it that way. It absolutely does help! I was wondering why I was drudging up a few uneasy memories and now I know why...all thanks to you! : )

Creativity and in general the power of creation is a powerful tool used by our brain to tackle the traumas and elaborate them. We all need to solve many knots within ourselves.. it's very important to acknowledge and tackle them, or else they will always be there, slowing our path of free joyful beings. JMHO. It was very nice talking to you about this :-)

Beautifully said. I agree that keeping things buried is not good. Get them out, deal with them and let them go; not as beautifully said as you though. I love your words "free joyful beings." I will definitely remember this. I enjoyed our conversation too. : )

Glad I could make you laugh! @deaconlee added his own take on this story and it is awesome! : )

Interesting story

манная каша.jpg

What a cute Christmas kitty! If you are not familiar with the song you must look it up; the lyrics for the song "Grandma got run over by a reindeer." It is so funny. Try to imagine someone singing in a country accent. Better yet, there might be one you can listen to (on the internet). Have fun! : )

Ha ha ha I agree don't stop now lol, how about:

Topping the hill Bubba see's the action below and takes off at a dead run drawing out his $9.99 Walmart survival knife as he passed Grandma's mailbox and then...

HaHa! That is soooooo good! Go for it! I see that @snook and 2 others did a collaborative freewrite. Go for it @deaconlee!

As the Sleigh begins to lift off of the ground Bubba hooks his knife and arm around the rear bumper and hangs on, meanwhile Grandma rolls up out of the snow bank with her double barrel shotgun and fires off two loads of rock salt at the hit-and-run driver disappearing into the night hitting Bubba in each cheek. And that boys and girls is how Santa got the two bright red taillights to go with his red headlight. Returning to the North pole to repair any damages and reload gifts, Santa takes a hot chocolate break. After discovering the problem the head mechanic elf walks up with a frozen object and explains that it was attached to a frozen figure hanging off of the back of the sleigh. Well, that would explain the drag replies Santa. What should we do asked the elf? Looking at the object Santa says " I'm not sure, I've never had a Christmas Eve knife like this before."

Your Turn! 🙂

OMG! This is so funny! You are such a hard act to follow but I will try. You post this as part 2 to mine on your blog. When that is done let me know and I will post the ending on my blog. OK?

Done! 👍

OMG you two are SO funny!!! :D LOVE IT! now, where IS part 3 @whatisnew!!

I'm on it! : )

Nice piece please when grandma with in eaech of bubba what happened. My imagination is already running wild but I don' t want imagine it.I am qaiting on you for the part 2 of this piece. I follow you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59993.26
ETH 2312.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49