Day 362: 5 Minute Freewrite: Wednesday-Prompt: run for your life

in #freewrite6 years ago

Day 362: 5 Minute Freewrite Challenge initiated by @mariannewest. Wednesday-Prompt: run for your life

My awesome badge was made by @fireawaymarmot and personalized by @omra-sky. Thank you!

This is a true story. One of my Steemit friends is @shasta who lives in Alaska and is a fan of my insect posts. One night she told me that flying insects had attacked her head and she had to run back into her house. I replied, "Run @shasta, RUN!" She asked me if I knew what those flying insects were.

After doing some research, I found out that there was a black fly outbreak close to where she lived which was due to their heavy rains. There were swarms of black flies that were very hungry and wanted blood which is what they feed on. They hone in on animals with hair and then go for the openings between the hair to get the blood. The black flies were biting humans around the hairline of the face and neck, mistaking them for animals. People were left with bleeding wounds, itching, swelling and severe allergic reactions. They were put on antihistamines and antibiotics, and their painful wounds took a long time to heal.

I told her that if she had to go outside and was attacked, that she needed to run back inside her house. I wrote, "Run @shasta, RUN! Run for you life!"

If you want to see beautiful nature photography, be sure visit @shasta's blog.

My cute gif is brought to you by @snook. Thank you!

Sort:  

This Post was Rating

Smokin' hot!!!

Wow! Thanks so much for the Smokin' Hot Rating!!! Hugs!

Shasta sounds like a sissy mary. Bite those flies back. :-)

You are so bad...just like those flies. : )

You mean I would make a "good" black fly? :-)

LOL

Mentioned you below here ;-)

Oh those flies - they've got some nerve.
But it could be worse! Thanks to @quillfires's recent story (curated, no less), I have learned how much worse:
Possessed by parasites and wasps, suicidal crickets drown, and other horror stories:

OMG! Thanks so much for this video! That sure is some amazing and disturbing stuff. If I start doing crazy things, I better get checked to see if I have toxo in my brain...OMG!!!

We all do! Some of us have more than others, hence, schizophrenia here, bipolar disorder there, and ADHD all over. That's how I figure it is, anyway! :)

LMAO Oh my goodness @whatisnew I can finally stop running!!! haha
Thank you my friend for telling my story in such a wonderful freewriteup!
I was getting out of breath running and laughing! I'm so glad you told it
as I couldn't bear to talk about such a fly! Poor lady who swallowed a
fly! Ok I'd rather be chased by a moose! lol
You made my day! 💕 To cold now for said flies! Can relax :-)

Oh no not a sissy mary @manorvillemike! those flies are down
right scary to this merry! They fly behind your head keeping the
sun between you and them, hardly ever land cept to bite.
You do not feel the bite and the itching just don't stop. The super
swelling area is many times the size of the bite, heck the bite gets
lost in all the red mountain! ❤ Ever see that old movie THE FLY!! :-)

I think it was Vincent Price who ended it with a rock for the human headed fly. Now the fly's relatives are getting back. lol

HAHA! Your comment made me laugh! Glad to hear that you can finally stop running. Cold weather does have a few perks. I can just picture a moose chasing you now...what a sight! LOL!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63220.55
ETH 2560.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80