Day 26: 5 Minute Freewrite-Prompt: a shoe

in #freewrite7 years ago

Day 26: 5 Minute Freewrite Challenge initiated by @mariannewest Prompt: a shoe


A shoe, a shoe...achoo. achoo! My Mom used to have sneezing fits. She sneezed no less than 7 times and no more than a dozen. Her sneezes were so violent; as if a spell was cast on her. Autumn was the worse. When the leaves began to fall, we knew that her spells would be more frequent. This petite 5' 2" woman sounded like this: a 3 second alto ahhh...as if she was holding a musical note...then a soprano CHOOOOO! If something was in her hand...not anymore. Her legs would bend with the ahhh, and her feet slammed the floor with the CHOOOOO! She lost many a shoe during her spells. Its a good thing she didn't wear a wig because that would surely go flying in the air. False teeth? No, thank goodness.

One time she fell down the stairs during a spell. From then on, if she was on the stairs when one began, she immediately sat down on the step. The sneeze was so hard that it bumped her down a step, while on her butt. ahhhCHOOOOO...bump...down a step. ahhhCHOOOOO...bump...down another step. That sure was a painful way to get down the stairs. (Actually, the bumping down the steps on her butt never happened; it just came to me as I was typing. HaHa! But, she did fall down the stairs once.) After her sneezing spells, she looked all disheveled and exhausted, as if she just ran in a marathon. My poor mom; we laughed at her expense every single time.

Image Source: 100% own work. After I wrote this, I went outside to take these photos of the leaves on the ground.

Sort:  

Ahh poor mom! What a cute story, though lol achoo!

Thanks! achoo back at you at least 7 times! : )

Your poor mom! Great story! It reminds me of a friend I have who always sneezes at least 4 times in a row. It's funny because she keeps trying to talk in between each sneeze. (Usually, cuss words...)

Thanks! You made me laugh about your friend. I think I would cuss too! : )

Thanks...me too! : )

This is cute. :D

Thanks! Glad you liked it! : )

What a great story about your Mom! I had a neighbor like that one time, the first time that I heard him having a sneezing spell I almost called the police. I was sure that there was a murder happening next door! 😃

Thanks! Your poor neighbor. LOL! : )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55258.26
ETH 2459.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.19