Day 129: 5 Minute Freewrite: Sunday-Prompt: fingernail

in #freewrite7 years ago

My badge was created by @fireawaymarmot and personalized by @omra-sky. Thank you!

Day 129: 5 Minute Freewrite Challenge initiated by @mariannewest. Sunday-Prompt: fingernail

First Things First

Did you ever have one of those days where everything goes wrong, and you think to yourself that this was the day you should have stayed in bed? When things like this happen to me, it is always in three's. It can be all in one day, one week, or in a span of six weeks. Here is an example. The air conditioner in my car broke, the air conditioner in my home broke, and my dryer broke; all in one week! I have a good friend who I will call "Penny" and the same thing happens to her. We don't live close by anymore but we talk on the phone once a week, and we get together five times every year. Last summer she had a string of bad things that happened to her in a period of six weeks. And today's prompt: fingernail, made me think of her immediately.

Another reason for thinking of Penny is because of reading @omra-sky's freewrite, "The Phantom Foghorn" which was highlighted in his "Over 20 Club-A look Back!" In his story he mentioned his good friend, "Jeremy" and how they had a weird connection. That is me and Penny; possibly because of our paranormal connection. When we first met 20 years ago, we clicked instantly and now we know why. I mentioned to @omra-sky that I have had paranormal experiences and he replied back that he would like to hear about them. Now I feel like I have a connection with @omra-sky, and this is just another example how freewrites and this freewrite community brings people together. I feel comfortable enough now to write about my experiences in freewrites, when the correct prompts arise. This will also allow me to share with the very interested @omra-sky, in bits and pieces. Oh, you opened a whole can of worms now @omra-sky! Penny and I have had these experiences individually and when you put us together, something usually happens. Maybe our energies together make this happen? I don't know. We never look for things to happen; they always find us. So, if you see a freewrite with "Paranormal Penny," you will know what it is all about.

The Prompt: fingernail

Now, back to Penny. This past summer, Penny worked in her yard removing vines, weeds, and trimmed bushes and tree branches. She has a lot of ground so you could find her on a riding mower 4-6 hours every week. She ended up with poison ivy or oak (can't remember which one) on her arms, hands and fingers which got infected. When her pinky fingernail fell off and when her pinky and ring finger looked like they were both ready to fall off, she finally went to urgent care. The infection had gone into her blood and she almost lost those two fingers. It took daily antibiotics for four months for everything to heal. This was the last of her three incidents. Her first and second incidents, combined with this last one, paints a disastrous looking Penny. (To be continued with other prompts.)

This gif has been brought to you by @snook. Thank you!

Sort:  

maybe your day will be full of friends @whatisnew

Aw, HUGS back at ya! : )

Lol. "Paranormal Penny". I'm glad she finally healed. You've inspired me...how about "Jerky Jeremy"? Maybe I'll think about this some more.

The possibilities for Jeremy are endless. Jerky, jumpy, jester, and when I can think of more, I will let you know. I guess they aren't endless. : )

Indeed, bad things tend to come in a series.
Here is the prompt for today: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-130-5-minute-freewrite-monday-prompt-wasps.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 58495.14
ETH 2461.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36