Day 109: 5 Minute Freewrite: Monday-Prompt: yard sale

in #freewrite6 years ago

Day 109: 5 Minute Freewrite Challenge initiated by @mariannewest. Monday-Prompt: yard sale

Every spring, the people that had been hibernating for the winter came outside to congregate for the yearly community yard sale. It was advertised in the newspaper and very popular. As I watched the people going back to their cars and trucks with their arms and hands full, it was a mystery to me as to why people bought the things they did; especially the junk.

One day during the summer, I decided to stop at a yard sale and almost bought a cruet. It was pretty and only $2.00, but it didn't scream "Buy Me!" The cabinet at home was already full and there was a large box sitting in the basement, full of cruets with no place to put them. This one would just be added to the box, so I walked away empty handed. I was so proud of myself until the day I watched Antiques Road Show and saw the same cruet appraised at $800. Ouch! That hurt! It is true that one person's trash is another person's treasure.

Image Source: 100% own work.

This gif has been brought to you by @snook. Thank you!

Sort:  

Is it a glass cruet or a crystal glass cruet?

The one in the photo is a cut glass cruet. : )

Oh! You never know what you will find at a yard sale!! I am always hoping to find some old painting or something worth money. Of course I would really never know. Thanks for sharing.

Keep hunting...you just never know. : )

Oh no!!! One never knows...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64928.52
ETH 3525.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36